Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay first let me say I am totally new at linux so hopefully people here can keep it simple. Next I will explain several problems I cam having with my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ubuntu live usb boot problem

Okay first let me say I am totally new at linux so hopefully people here can keep it simple. Next I will explain several problems I cam having with my computer so that people will know where I am coming from. I am unable to boot from my Windows at this point and am trying to get that working. Unfortunately haven't been able to yet. So I am trying linux while trying to fix my windows but haven't been able to get it to boot up from that machine yet. Another problem is that my keyboard seems to cause problems anytime after the computer is past the BIOS sequence and before some sort of operating system loads. It can be any operating system but only after it loads is it a good idea to press a key on the kb. If I press a key before that AND after the BIOS have finished loading then everything freezes. That problem has been around for a long time but my machine was still booting fine for more than a year after it started so it has nothing to do with why my windows isn't working.

Okay on to the ubuntu boot problem. I am using a USB stick to boot up linux on the computer with a problem. And I tested the stick on another computer that isn't having any problems and it booted fine. I also know that this computer can boot up from a usb stick because I have done it before so that can't be the problem. But the startup o flinux freezes or something after this line.

loading /casper/initrd.lz..............................ready