Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a newbie to linux, my OS of choice is windows xp, my computers will not run windows 7 so as an alternative I am seriously thinking of changing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

cant install or use windows applications in wine

I am a newbie to linux, my OS of choice is windows xp, my computers will not run windows 7 so as an alternative I am seriously thinking of changing to ubuntu after the windows support for xp finishes. with this in mind I have installed ubuntu 10.10 as a second OS on my pc. I like the speed, looks and ease of use of the OS. the only draw back is that I have a lot of windows applications that I run and sometimes beta test for a large british software company, I saw that a windows emulator was available (wine), downloaded, checked the documentation and the database, only to find the only software on the database was games. I have tried several applications (not games) only to get the error message "the file is not marked as executable". is there something I am missing or are they not supported by wine? and could all applications be supported in a future release?

Hi pehorts and welcome to Linuxforums.

If you must test Windows software, I think the most practical solution is to run Windows XP inside a virtual machine such as VirtualBox. The free version is installable with the "Synaptic" package manager in your menu. The non-free version, which has a few more bells and whistles, is available from their website. Once installed, follow the procedure to install Windows inside a virtual machine.

Wine runs some Windows programs well, some fairly and others poorly if at all. You might want to check the WineHQ applications database for which programs have been tried and how they run through wine. As you point out, wine is heavily used for gaming but other Windows applications and programs will run with it too.