Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
Followed these directions: Move /home to itís own partition January 29, 2006 (ref page) on Natty Narwhal - Ubuntu 11.04. - copied home to new partition newhome - renamed old ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    33

    Moving the Home Partition - Problems


    Followed these directions:

    Move /home to itís own partition January 29, 2006 (ref page)

    on Natty Narwhal - Ubuntu 11.04.

    - copied home to new partition newhome
    - renamed old home to old_home
    - edited /etc/fstab as follows:

    /dev/sda2 /home ext2 nodev,nosuid 0 2

    to point (so I thought) to the new home.

    On newhome, I've got three primary folders:

    lost+found
    home / administrator

    and in administrator is where I find all the usual files / file folders.

    Full fstab below:

    Code:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
    # for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
    # devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    # proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    /dev/sda2 	/home 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    # / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=01606ff8-cae6-4f14-891d-b0e0f1c18bda /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
    When I reboot, it either tries to recreate home on the original partition (after checking for errors on bootup) or nothing works and I get a blinking cursor when I click on home for example.

    Grub comes up ok (Dual boot - Ubuntu 11.04 / Win XP Pro)

    Running GPartEd shows the following:

    /dev/sda - 11.04 - main partition (ext4)
    /dev/sda2 - newhome
    /dev/sda3 - WinXP

    I must've missed something. No idea what or where to go from here.
    Last edited by spurtniq; 05-05-2011 at 07:57 AM. Reason: Link reference

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    - renamed old home to old_home
    If you renamed home to old-home, did you create
    a home directory as a mount point for the new
    partition?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    If you renamed home to old-home, did you create
    a home directory as a mount point for the new
    partition?
    If I have to ask, what exactly do you mean by that, I think one can safely assume I might not have.

    I don't think in the instructions from the page I referenced for this, there was mention of or discussion of (at least not, I don't think) in the terms you're using,
    creating a home directory as a "mount point".

    I guess I need a little elaboration on that to be sure one as to whether I did or not and two, if I didn't how to best proceed.

    Thanx

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho USA
    Posts
    362
    Is your username 'administrator' ? if not change it to the correct username, the name you used during install.
    fstab shows it is mounted correct if it is on /dev/sda2.
    Your 'ref page' link is bad, give correct link will help to see the steps you took.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    33
    Can't post the reference link YET. Not enough posts.

    Copy / Paste everything but "(ref page)"

    If you search the reference you should be able to get to
    (I used Google) the page and the steps I suggested.

    I was logged in as administrator. It's the only login.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    When you list what is in your file system.

    Code:
    rcgreen@blue:/$ cd /
    rcgreen@blue:/$ ls
    bin    dev   initrd          lib         mnt   root  sys  var          winshare
    boot   etc   initrd.img      lost+found  opt   sbin  tmp  vmlinuz
    cdrom  home  initrd.img.old  media       proc  srv   usr  vmlinuz.old
    rcgreen@blue:/$
    One of the directories is home. If you renamed the original
    one, there won't be one listed. Then create a new one with the command

    sudo mkdir /home

    Any other partitions you mount on your system, like your
    replacement for home, need places to mount, as
    specified in your fstab

    Code:
    /dev/sda2 	/home 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    This means that the partition called /dev/sda2 is to be
    mounted, or connected to the file system, at the directory
    /home. An empty directory must exist at that location.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen View Post
    When you list what is in your file system.

    Code:
    rcgreen@blue:/$ cd /
    rcgreen@blue:/$ ls
    bin    dev   initrd          lib         mnt   root  sys  var          winshare
    boot   etc   initrd.img      lost+found  opt   sbin  tmp  vmlinuz
    cdrom  home  initrd.img.old  media       proc  srv   usr  vmlinuz.old
    rcgreen@blue:/$
    One of the directories is home. If you renamed the original
    one, there won't be one listed. Then create a new one with the command

    sudo mkdir /home

    Any other partitions you mount on your system, like your
    replacement for home, need places to mount, as
    specified in your fstab

    Code:
    /dev/sda2 	/home 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    This means that the partition called /dev/sda2 is to be
    mounted, or connected to the file system, at the directory
    /home. An empty directory must exist at that location.
    Ok, here's what's happening:

    I've modified this

    Code:
    # proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    /dev/sda2 	/home 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    to this:

    Code:
    # proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    /dev/sda2 	/home/administrator 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    this gives me duplicate directories none of which point to the primary folders. I have files in the Downloads directory. I have installed Chromium. I can see the folders / files, but, they don't load.

    and this

    Code:
    # proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    /dev/sda2 	/ 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    no file check - no OS

    and this:

    Code:
    proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    /dev/sda2 	/ 		ext2 	nodev,nosuid 	    0 	    2
    "could not update ICE authority"
    "gconf-sanity-check-2 problem with configuration server status 256"
    "could not create desktop /home/administrator/.nautilus"

    recreated administrator folders on root

    booted live USB, copied files from /home/administrator to root

    no difference

    I've got a /home folder on the main partition

    and

    /home/administrator on newhome

    It's not reading, getting the right permissions, finding the correct files / folders on load.

    Do I need to chmod folders on newhome? If so, with what permissions?

    What SHOULD be the appropriate settings in /etc/fstab?

    What tests can I run to help you help me?

    Thanx

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho USA
    Posts
    362
    To let you know I am not a long time linux user and do make errors.

    Is this the How-To you used?..
    Move /home to itís own partition Ubuntu Blog

    Have never used 'cpio' and can not make any commant on it usage.

    {I have used (from a live cd) 'cp -a /media/sda1/home/* /media/sda8/'
    Then edited fstab to point /home to sda8. Did not remove the original /home files as they will not be seen once booted, from a live cd they will be seen}

    I've got a /home folder on the main partition
    and
    /home/administrator on newhome
    Rename /home/adminitrator to /1home/administrator.
    sda2/administrator should be mounting on /home when booted, so it will then be seen as /home/administrator. two /home/adminstrator folders will be bad.

    You are using a live cd , sda2 should have /administrator/ with file in it, not /home/administrator/.

    If you look at /old_home, does it have one folder names /administrator ?

    If you look at sda2/adminitrator and /old_home/adminitrator, they both look the same ?

    I'm asking the above to be sure files were copied under the correct paths.

    My home on a separate partition.
    Code:
    # /home was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    #moved /home to sda8
    UUID=23e80f1d-1a07-4f3d-a1f7-bd6024f8efd9 /home           ext3    defaults        0       2
    Last edited by Lostfarmer; 05-07-2011 at 03:25 PM. Reason: correct error in my cp command

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho USA
    Posts
    362
    Decided to move my /home from / for xubuntu to a common home with 2 other linuxs. My common home is sda8 and labled HOME and was mounted in /media. ' xchris' is my xubuntu user name.

    prier to the move
    the '$' indicates a terminal with root privileges.
    Code:
     $ cd/home
    $ ls   xchris
    $ find . -depth -print0 | cpio --null --sparse -pvd /media/HOME
    $ cd /media/HOME
    $ ls mepis     xchris    igo
    edited /ect/fstab (as written is pri post.)

    When I rebooted
    $ cd /home
    $ ls mepis xchris igo

    That is all I did and doing the cd and ls above shows /home was moved to sda8.

    The old /home is still there but when it is booted , the new /home on sda8 is in use.

    Hope you can make out what I did above and is helpful to you.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    33

    Reply: Lostfarmer

    I can't even quote your hyperlink YET.

    Thank you for all the info. Haven't had a chance to apply it yet.

    Yes, that's the website I used to migrate.

    I didn't use the cpio command. I booted from a live USB opened the partition as root and copy / pasted the folder. The only thing I might've missed is whether or not copy / pasting as root copies ALL files or whether or not I have to explicitly SHOW hidden files / folders.

    But, then again, it did copy over the .config folder. And that's a hidden folder.

    Thank you both for your time and attention. I'll try to get to this this afternoon and keep you posted as to my progress / success.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •