Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm relatively new to linux, but i've learned some stuff and still have some goals. I'm seeking some advice on the best way to proceed. Thanks for your ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

U9.10 homeserver for fileshare - Samba? FTP? help...

Hi all,
    I'm relatively new to linux, but i've learned some stuff and still have some goals. I'm seeking some advice on the best way to proceed. Thanks for your patience. if this question is well answered elsewhere, a link to that would be sufficient.

my goal:
    use a linux box as a password-protected (read/write) fileshare server on a home network, for compatability with windows 7 machines. Files/drives to be shared are on external hard drives for volume reasons.

What I have accomplished so far:
    ubuntu 9.10 up and running on old desktop
    using php5, phpmyadmin, mysql - got http home page set up that is accessible over home network
    remote desktop is enabled, works successfully
    external hard drives mount automatically in ubuntu, data is accessible/usable
    SAMBA is downloaded...

Is Samba the best way to proceed? I've tried to read up on the samba's docs, but I still don't exactly understand What it is or How it works, and also whether it will work with Windows 7 Home pcs. do i have to dl software for the windoze pcs, and mess with the registry? is it worth it?
    Ideally I want other home network users to be able to access the fileshare server without having to mess around on each individual computer....

Are there other options? Is there some way I could mount my external HDs in the folder that my /var/www folder that the server automatically references, and make some kind of http-based directory navigation for file transfer?
    Would password protecting the home/index page be sufficient to ensure some amount of security?