Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Guys I am a Windows Tech who's eyes have been opened to how good Ubuntu is, but now Im feeling my else shutting again I played with Ubuntu 11.04 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

HELP! New Convertee with Bootloader install Failed

Hi Guys

I am a Windows Tech who's eyes have been opened to how good Ubuntu is, but now Im feeling my else shutting again

I played with Ubuntu 11.04 on a VM earlier and decided to instead of installing win 7 on my new system I would install the unix OS.

I have a Gigabyte i7 950 system with a 40GB SATA2 SSD and 2 x 2TB SATA2 disk mirror

The 40 GB SSD is where I am trying to install the 11.04 OS.

The install fails with the "Bootloader Install Failed". I have read comments online where you can 'continue' the install without the loader, but after selecting this option, it doesn't allow me to continue?? The only option that works is the 'Cancel the Installation' option.

Any ideas?

I was so so excited about installing Ubuntu today.. Win 7 is calling me

moto

Linux Guru
    Not much information. At what point do you have problems? What option did you seelct for installation of the three available? Do you have anything else on the SSD?
    How were you planning to boot Ubuntu? If you don't install the Ubuntu bootloader, you will need to configure windows bootloader. Did you do that? How else would you expect it to boot?

Did you get through the installation process to the point where you get the option to select where to install the bootloader? What did you select?

I have read comments online where you can 'continue' the install without the loader
    I'd read that info over again. It's possible but you don't give enough information for anyone to be able to tell you if you can in your circumstances since we don't know them.

Win 7 is calling me
    So go.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your reply Yancek