Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am a newbie on linux (ubuntu 11.04) and I have a problem: Installing a windows xp partition on my drive. I have a partition in ext4 format for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Bootproblems: Win XP CD

Hello,

I am a newbie on linux (ubuntu 11.04) and I have a problem: Installing a windows xp partition on my drive.

I have a partition in ext4 format for linux and with the standard linux disc utility tool I created a NTFS partition, which should support windows (I also tried "empty space") and I made the partition bootable.
    When I put in my orriginal windows XP CD and I run the setup with wine 1.2.2, the normal installationwindow pops up and after clicking on "install windows XP" it gives an error: "no valid system partition could be found" and the setup is terminated.

I also tried booting directly from the windows XP CD. The normal setup loads and when the setup reboots (this seems to be normal) it gives an "STOP: 0x0000007B INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE" error and shuts down.
    I googled this second error and on the microsoft page it says, that the problem could be:
    - a boot sector virus (I don't think this is the case)
    - device driver issues (I assume this is the problem)
    - hardware issues (the linux disc utility says the disc health is fine)

My questions:
    To exclude the virus: Can someone give me an easy to handle antivirus programm? I tried "avast" but I cannot get it to work.

What device drivers do I need, or what configuration do I need to get the windows XP boot CD working?

Is there a possibility that I run the setup with wine, that it is able to find a valid system partition?

Thanks a lot for getting on it!

Linux Guru
    Wine is used to run windows programs on a Linux install and cannot be used to install windows.

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/win...-exe-wine.html