Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I have been trying to build linux from source code and run it from my machine (intel platform). Here's what I did: Code: $make defconfig $make $make modules #make modules_install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12

    Problem running newly compiled kernel (2.6.39)...


    I have been trying to build linux from source code and run it from my machine (intel platform). Here's what I did:
    Code:
    $make defconfig
    $make
    $make modules
    #make modules_install
    #make install
    #update-grub
    I am using Grub2. When I rebooted the new kernel was in the grub list all right. But booting from that kernel fails with no errors or warning. The screen just goes blank. The disk usage indicator LED also doesn't glow which I guess means that the kernel isn't being read from the disk. I rebooted using my older kernel and it booted properly. Then, when I listed my /boot directory, I noticed that there was no initrd.img for 2.6.39. kernel in there, which I think is the problem. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12
    I tried to make the init ramdisk manually:
    #update-initramfs -c -k 2.6.39
    #update grub

    On rebooting, the same problem occured. So I tried booting in recovery mode. I worked. Although, the shell prompt is strange
    Code:
    (initramfs)
    Also, the directory structure is weird and there is no /boot or /home and a /root directory is present. vi editor is not present. Is this normal for manually compiled kernels? And why is it booting only in recovery mode? I am new to this so kindly help.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,664
    What was your previous kernel before you tried to build/install 2.6.39? And is this 32-bit or 64-bit? I also assume (possibly incorrectly) that you are running an Intel processor?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    146
    I fail to understand how did you start the new kernel when you did not copy it to /boot.

  6. #5
    rrl
    rrl is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    What was your previous kernel before you tried to build/install 2.6.39? And is this 32-bit or 64-bit? I also assume (possibly incorrectly) that you are running an Intel processor?
    Quote Originally Posted by Op
    I have been trying to build linux from source code and run it from my machine (intel platform).
    Whenever you assume, there is always the possibility of being wrong.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by dE_logics View Post
    I fail to understand how did you start the new kernel when you did not copy it to /boot.
    make install does that

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by dE_logics View Post
    I fail to understand how did you start the new kernel when you did not copy it to /boot.
    make install does that

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12
    2.6.35-22. intel 32-bit

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by scuzzy View Post
    make install does that
    It does not unless the sources are modified (I've never seen such kernel sources). You have to do it manually.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by dE_logics View Post
    It does not unless the sources are modified (I've never seen such kernel sources). You have to do it manually.
    The kernel image vmlinuz is being created there. The only problem is with initrd.img.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •