Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I am new to linux and not very computer savvy. About 3 months ago, I decided to try Linux and installed successfully UBUNTU 10 on my Sony laptop. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cannot boot after installation of upgrade

Hi everyone,

I am new to linux and not very computer savvy.

About 3 months ago, I decided to try Linux and installed successfully UBUNTU 10 on my Sony laptop. I also transfered my files and downloaded those programs that I wanted to work with. I was happy learning and using my system.

I recently was sent an updated disc with Ubuntu 11 and I decided to upgrade. During installation, I was presented with the choice to either replace my existing version and lose all my added files and programs or to install alongside it. I chose the second option hoping to use both version interchangeably, until I am satisfied that the new vesrion is better for me.

After installation which went normally as far as I can tell, I found out that I cannot boot either system. I get a message "grub>" and nothing else.

I realize that I am not giving enough data for whoever choses to help me but I am not sure what do I need to provide nor how to get it. I am hoping that someone will be able to help revert back to my older version of Ubuntu 10 (although at some point I would like to learn how to upgrade my software without risking losing all my existing data) but for now all I would want to do is forget about the Ububtu 11, rid my system of it and go back to my older version.

Unless I can do that, I am going to just wipe everything by formatting the disk, and forget all about Linux going back to Windows.

Hi and welcome to this forum!

What you see there on your screen is the prompt of your bootloader (Grub) waiting for some input. The bootloader is basically the program, which loads your operating system.