Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, Please, help me. I'm not newb from programming standpoint, but I'm new to scripting and new to Linux all together. If I have a web page, using firefox browser ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Newb question, how to use curl command to get "generated source"

Hello,
    Please, help me. I'm not newb from programming standpoint, but I'm new to scripting and new to Linux all together.

If I have a web page, using firefox browser I can manually [view source] or [view generated source].

Does curl have similar parameter / option?

Any advise will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Trusted Penguin
    If you grab the page with curl (or wget - my preferred grabber), you ARE getting the source, although I'm not sure what generated source means...

e.g.
    Code:
    curl http://www.google.com -o google.html
    The program tidy can make it easier to read sometimes, e.g.:
    Code:
    tidy -o google-pretty.html google.html

Thank you Atreyu,

But it does not get "generated source"

Source:
    <body>
    <script>document.write("Hello, Linux Forums!");</script>
    </body>

Generated source:
    <body>
    <script>document.write("Hello, Linux Forums!");</script>
    Hello, Linux Forums!
    </body>

So, in the above case "source" is what is loaded by the browser in response to the page-request.
    "Generated source" is what the browser has after all the javascript executes.

Trusted Penguin
    Hmmmm, yes javascript, you may have a problem...see here and a link from that thread, here.

Hello atreyu,
    Thank you for your response.
    I can't believe it, but I finally found a case where generated source is significantly different from the view-source which curl function provides. Please, open the following page through your browser. You should see bunch of thumbnails, and the navigation to go to the next page of results.