Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nixblog
Hello all, need some help. I am new to linux and have been using ubuntu via flash drive and also from live cd. they have worked great on my CQ60, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help - black screen on loading - newbie

Hello all, need some help. I am new to linux and have been using ubuntu via flash drive and also from live cd. they have worked great on my CQ60, so I decided to try on my HP Pavillion DV5 2155dx - it starts to load but after the first sceens with script?(a bunch of lines of text) I get a black screen without a prompt or anything.(occassionally I get the sound) HELP!! Do I need some sort of drivers? I am not totally computer illiterate, but don't have a clue where to start. I do know how to get into my bios and make changes, just don't know what they should be changed to, beyond the boot order
    (I am wanting to go pure linux and get rid of windows)

Ubuntu 11.10 desktop i386
    Here is what I have: (currently has windows 7 on it)
    HP Pavillion dv5
    i3 CPU m370 2.4 ghz
    4GB ram
    64 bit
    440 GB Hard Drive

what else do you need to know to help me

THANKS
    Last edited by nacmama; 12-19-2011 at 04:05 AM.

Just Joined!
    I'm assuming you are just trying it as a Live CD on the HP box. If you say your hearing sound as in the login sound then it may be that Ubuntu has loaded but for some reason switched the tty used. You could try pressing CTRL+ALT+F1 and cycle through CTRL+ALT+F2 etc to F8 - F8 (tty should be the standard screen output, F7 (tty7) may give you some info to on the boot process and the other tty's should give you a console login.
    nacmama likes this.

Just Joined!
    Yes, I thought I would try running as a LiveCD first. and yes, that login audio

THANKS! Will try - in the middle of a memory test right now as soon as that is done, will let you know what happens, thanks again!