Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
The power options are set to not to suspend. I use a HDMI cable to a HDTV....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs down Ubuntu will suspend/standby when not in use for a bit?


    The power options are set to not to suspend. I use a HDMI cable to a HDTV.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,574
    One presumes you are running off of wall (mains) power and not battery. There are at least two power setting configurations - one for mains power, and the other for battery. Check them both.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    It is a desktop, so yes it is the main power source.

  4. #4
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Just curious... Is it suspending?
    Or is it simply going to a blank screensaver?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,574
    Well, in my experience, a desktop will not suspend, though it may turn on the screen saver and require you to input your password to unlock the screen. Have you tried just pressing the shift key, or space bar?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    I could hit some keys to bring it back and enter my password to unlock it. I actually took Ubuntu off and installed Xbuntu. Same version 64 bit 11.10. It has screen savers pre-installed. So this problem does not apply. Which is great. Though the only annoyance is in ubuntu, audio went through my HDMI port to the HDTV, in xubuntu, I have to use external speakers with the hdtv. There better quality though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •