Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Ok. Typing sudo wlan0 down came back with an error, so I guessed you meant "sudo ifconfig wlan0 down". It didn't seem to stop my current wifi at all. Might ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    12

    Ok. Typing sudo wlan0 down came back with an error, so I guessed you meant "sudo ifconfig wlan0 down". It didn't seem to stop my current wifi at all. Might the internal card be wlan1 and the new adapter wlan2?

    Anyway, all the output from the commands is here.

    Code:
    colin@colin-laptop:~$ sudo wlan0 down
    [sudo] password for colin: 
    sudo: wlan0: command not found
    colin@colin-laptop:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    colin@colin-laptop:~$ sudo ifconfig wlan1 up
    colin@colin-laptop:~$ sudo iwlist wlan1 scan
    wlan1     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 1C:BD:B9:AF:70:7E
                        ESSID:"ReedVirginHome"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.432 GHz (Channel 5)
                        Quality:100/100  Signal level:-22 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  18 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : CCMP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                            Group Cipher : CCMP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:22:75:25:F1:69
                        ESSID:"USER-PC_Network"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality:18/100  Signal level:-84 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  18 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
              Cell 03 - Address: 00:21:04:9A:1A:92
                        ESSID:"BTHomeHub2-JHRT"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality:25/100  Signal level:-80 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                                  9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
                        IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
              Cell 04 - Address: 00:14:BF:A5:F1:55
                        ESSID:"linksys"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality:14/100  Signal level:-87 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
              Cell 05 - Address: 52:2B:C1:7B:6C:96
                        ESSID:"BTOpenzone"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Quality:14/100  Signal level:-87 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:off
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
    
    colin@colin-laptop:~$

  2. #12
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    wlan0 would be the internal card. The adapter is wlan1.
    So we know that the adapter is scanning. Is your network name listed among the results that you posted?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    12
    Yes - the first result ReedVirginHome is my wifi. It's definitely finding the network, just won't connect if I have WPA encryption turned on.

  4. #14
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I'm still digging around on this, but let me ask something silly.
    Are you certain that this adapter supports WPA? There are some devices that just don't play nice with WPA/WPA2.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  5. #15
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Do you happen to have wpa_supplicant installed?
    If not, or if you're not sure:
    Code:
    sudo aptitude install wpasupplicant
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    12
    I think it supports WPA/WPA2 - I can't check at the moment because I'm out of the country without the adapter until Saturday. I'll try to get back to it as soon as I'm back. Sorry if it makes the thread a bit disjointed.

    Thanks
    Colin

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Tenorman View Post
    I think it supports WPA/WPA2 - I can't check at the moment because I'm out of the country without the adapter until Saturday. I'll try to get back to it as soon as I'm back. Sorry if it makes the thread a bit disjointed.

    Thanks
    Colin
    Sorry for the long delay in getting back to this thread. Yes, the adapter does support WPA/WPA2. It's currently running on the Desktop PC I bought it for - but currently only running Windows. Looking to install Mint on it, but need to get the WiFi working asap, as I can't position the PC anywhere near my router so can't plug in a cable without drilling holes through walls and ceilings to run the cable - and I really want to avoid doing that.

    Thanks
    Colin

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    12
    Picking up this thread again, and I don't know if it would now be more appropriate to switch the thread to the Mint forum or if leaving it here is ok because of the similarities. I've installed Mint12 on the desktop, mintwifi didn't seem to detect anything with the card. I installed the same drivers using ndiswrapper, and ndiswrapper recognises the hardware and driver. Output of sudo ndiswrapper -l is
    Code:
    bcmn43xx32 : driver installed
            device (0846:9020) present
    bcmn43xx64 : driver installed
            device (0846:9020) present
    However, the network manager doesn't recognise any wireless networking - all options greyed out. The output of iwconfig is
    Code:
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth1      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth2      no wireless extensions.
    
    usb0      no wireless extensions.
    I don't even know where to start. Every guide I see to setting up wireless in Linux seems to expect that a wireless point will be recognised. If it's any help, the PC has a Gigabyte Ultra Durable GA EX 58UD5 Motherboard. I know that Gigabyte motherboards cause some difficulties with booting from USB keys - don't know if this is in any way related.

    Thanks
    Colin

  9. #19
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    The only thing I can think to try is study the output of dmesg after every command you attempt....I think something is not right or broken but I have no idea what. You might consider getting a new card with a different chipset, they usually aren't that expensive.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    12
    OK, so I reverted back to Ubuntu - 10.10 this time - in place of Mint. Get the same problems. This time when I used ndiswrapper to install the driver I got the following error. I don't know if this sheds any light on the matter. I'm tempted to go and buy a PCI card with a different chipset, but am concerned that I'll just get another thing that won't work with this particular PC.
    Code:
    sudo ndiswrapper -i bcmn43xx64.inf
    couldn't find SourceDisksFiles section - continuing anyway...
    installing bcmn43xx64 ...
    couldn't find install section "BCM43XXN32" -
    installation may be incomplete

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •