Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Like Tree1Likes
Ok so i recently dual booted Ubuntu and now every time I reboot my computer automatically boots with Ubuntu 12.04 and not Vista! How do i boot with vista or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60

    Dual booted Vista and Ubuntu. Start up menu not showing! Need Vista!


    Ok so i recently dual booted Ubuntu and now every time I reboot my computer automatically boots with Ubuntu 12.04 and not Vista! How do i boot with vista or allow my computer to give me the options to boot a certain OS?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    68
    Type this in Google: "dual boot ubuntu windows is gone" I'm not allowed to post links yet.
    The 4th or 5th website "lancebledsoe" should help you. Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,272
    Please post the output of

    Code:
    $ sudo os-prober
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by nujinini View Post
    Please post the output of

    Code:
    $ sudo os-prober
    Ok i got /dev/sda1:Windows Vista (loader):Windows:chain
    /dev/sda3:Windows Vista (loader):Windows1:chain

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Your last post indicates Grub found windows on sda1 and sda3. Try running: sudo update-grub and see if you get a menu entry in the boot menu. If that doesn't help, go to the site below and download the bootinfoscript, read the instructions and run it and post the results here. It will show your drive/partition and boot file info:

    Boot Info Script | Free System Administration software downloads at SourceForge.net

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    Your last post indicates Grub found windows on sda1 and sda3. Try running: sudo update-grub and see if you get a menu entry in the boot menu. If that doesn't help, go to the site below and download the bootinfoscript, read the instructions and run it and post the results here. It will show your drive/partition and boot file info:

    Boot Info Script | Free System Administration software downloads at SourceForge.net
    I've already tried update-grub and it didn't work

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    sorry i don't really know how to use that. You could try maybe explaining.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    I ran boot repair disk and i still don't have my boot menu Please help

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    60
    Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    Your last post indicates Grub found windows on sda1 and sda3. Try running: sudo update-grub and see if you get a menu entry in the boot menu. If that doesn't help, go to the site below and download the bootinfoscript, read the instructions and run it and post the results here. It will show your drive/partition and boot file info:

    Boot Info Script | Free System Administration software downloads at SourceForge.net
    ok i have the RESULTS.txt how do i show you because I cannot paste it here because it's too long.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    You should be able to upload to differrent sites and post a link to it, sites like: tinypic.com or imageshack.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •