Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Originally Posted by TaZMAniac Might want to check this link; https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic....780740#p780740 Thanks for the info. If I understand that correctly, that is for setting up defaults on the system. In ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by TaZMAniac View Post
    Thanks for the info. If I understand that correctly, that is for setting up defaults on the system. In my case, my system defaults are correct. Chrome is over-riding the system default application for Office documents and opening a non-default application. What odd is that this just start... until a few days ago, if I opened an Office document after downloading (the little download tab on the bottom left in Chrome) it correctly opened office. I haven't done any updates or installed any new programs.
    Registered Linux user #439800.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven_G View Post
    Have you tried completely removing chrome with all of its config files

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge chrome
    and reinstalling?

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install chrome
    It's kind of a kludgy fix and it doesn't get at the cause of the problem. So maybe it won't fix it and maybe it will happen again. But it might fix it?
    My concern about this method is I will lose my Chrome information, like logins/passwords, bookmarks...
    Registered Linux user #439800.

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven_G View Post
    Have you tried completely removing chrome with all of its config files

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge chrome
    and reinstalling?

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install chrome
    It's kind of a kludgy fix and it doesn't get at the cause of the problem. So maybe it won't fix it and maybe it will happen again. But it might fix it?
    I didn't realize I could have Google backup all my saved data, like the passwords and bookmarks I was worried about. So i did that and decided to go this route. When I run the purge comamand, I get this:

    Code:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Unable to locate package chrome
    Registered Linux user #439800.

  4. #14
    Linux User Steven_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Western US
    Posts
    334
    This is one of two things:

    1) I have the name of the package wrong.

    2) The package is not installed. It is possible to run many pakages without them actually being "installed". Did you download a stand alone installer from Google for the package or did you install it from the repo's?

    An easy way to check = Open the software center and check your installed software, if you see Chrome in there then click on it and get the package name. If you installed it from the repos then use the above listed commands to remove it with the correct package name. Do not use the software center to uninstall it because I don't think that it pulls out the config files as well (--purge). Then reinstall it.

    If you used a stand alone installer they usually include uninstall scripts that can be used to remove the program. You should be able to find directions for running that script on the page where you got the installer.

    Then you can reinstall it.

    Check the default repos for chrome before going to outside sources:

    Code:
    sudo apt-cache search chrome
    This will give you the name of any packages with the word chrome in their name or descritption. Then just pick the right one and install it.

    Directions for installing Chrome from PPA. (If it's not available in the default repos and you didn't do it this way the first time this will keep your Chrome up to date with the rest of your system.)

  5. #15
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Try this way:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge chromium
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven_G View Post
    This is one of two things:

    1) I have the name of the package wrong.

    2) The package is not installed. It is possible to run many pakages without them actually being "installed". Did you download a stand alone installer from Google for the package or did you install it from the repo's?

    An easy way to check = Open the software center and check your installed software, if you see Chrome in there then click on it and get the package name. If you installed it from the repos then use the above listed commands to remove it with the correct package name. Do not use the software center to uninstall it because I don't think that it pulls out the config files as well (--purge). Then reinstall it.

    If you used a stand alone installer they usually include uninstall scripts that can be used to remove the program. You should be able to find directions for running that script on the page where you got the installer.

    Then you can reinstall it.

    Check the default repos for chrome before going to outside sources:

    Code:
    sudo apt-cache search chrome
    This will give you the name of any packages with the word chrome in their name or descritption. Then just pick the right one and install it.

    Directions for installing Chrome from PPA. (If it's not available in the default repos and you didn't do it this way the first time this will keep your Chrome up to date with the rest of your system.)

    I will have to look for uninstall script because I got the .deb directly from Google.

    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Try this way:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge chromium

    Thanks, but I am using Chrome, not Chromium.
    Registered Linux user #439800.

  7. #17
    Linux User Steven_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Western US
    Posts
    334
    I'm killing time between fire alarms at work on a doze system, so that makes it a little harder to do things b/c I have to work from memory or search the web with no access to a *nix install. (And I'm still pretty noob myself.)

    I've done some looking around the web for you. The .deb installer *should* register itself with the package manager. So you should be able to remove the package from the terminal using commands.

    Depending on the version that you installed then one of the two following commands should remove it and all of its config files:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge google-chrome-unstable
    or
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge google-chrome-stable
    From what I've read on the web I'd try the first command first. (In other words you probably currently have the unstable version and this is probably what caused the problem; you got a buggy update. As a noob you should stay far, far away from all of the unstable branches of all software. We don't have the skills to fix it and it will cause you nothing but headaches.)

    After it is removed then run:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    ( Not 100% necessary, I just like to make sure things are completely cleaned up as I work.)

    Then go in to the update manager (trying to remember exactly where) / advanced (maybe?). Any way, look around in the buttons, tabs and options of the update manager and find where your repositories (repos) are listed. If you have the unstable version then uncheck the google chrome repo.

    If you already have the PPA for the *stable* version in your update manager then you can reinstall the program with:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    sudo apt-get install google-chrome-stable

    If you installed the unstable version with the .deb installer then to install the stable version and add the PPA to your repos so that it stays up to date through your update manager then follow the directions here
    Last edited by Steven_G; 07-20-2012 at 07:47 PM. Reason: typos / clarification

  8. #18
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Since you know for sure that it's Chrome, here's an alteration to Steven_G's suggestion:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge google-chrome*
    The * wildcard will substitute all chrome filenames for removal.

    *EDIT*
    Just in case, try this, too:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge chrome*
    Last edited by jayd512; 07-20-2012 at 07:45 PM. Reason: see EDIT
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #19
    Linux User Steven_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Western US
    Posts
    334
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Since you know for sure that it's Chrome, here's an alteration to Steven_G's suggestion:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge google-chrome*
    The * wildcard will substitute all chrome filenames for removal.

    *EDIT*
    Just in case, try this, too:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove --purge chrome*
    OK, well I just learned somthing there. But, I would still recommend that you do it the long way. The reason being that what steps you take after removal will be determined by what version you have installed now. And by using a wild card you won't know which version it is that you are removing.

    On the other hand I know there is a command that will tell you which version something is. But I don't have my cheat sheet with me so I can't help you there right now.
    Last edited by Steven_G; 07-20-2012 at 09:02 PM.

  10. #20
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven_G View Post
    I know there is a command that will tell you which version something is.
    Code:
    which <package_name>
    Code:
    <package_name> --version
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •