Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm a bit of noob when it comes to installing anything on Linux Ubutu. I'm trying to install Matlab for a class I'll be taking this fall. When I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mount issue. Mount: only root can do that

Hi,

I'm a bit of noob when it comes to installing anything on Linux Ubutu. I'm trying to install Matlab for a class I'll be taking this fall. When I try to mount the ISO ($sudo mount ml2012au.iso /home/gotmilk/Desktop/Matlab_Unix_2012a), it says "Mount: only root can do that." What exactly do I do? If anyone could dumb it down (basically tell me what to type on the terminal) , that would be great because I honestly have no clue on how to install exactly.

I looked it up before I posted and people say something about the user option and something about /etc/fstab? I'm not sure what exactly they are talking about so if anything could explain that would be great!

Linux Guru
    If you want to extract the files in the iso, you would first need to create a mount point. Ubuntu would expect the matlab files to be in the /media directory. First do this:

sudo mkdir /media/matlab
    Hit the enter key. You should have a matlab sub-directory in the /media directory. You will then need to navigate to whereever the actual file "ml2012au.iso" is, in your /home/gotmilk/Downloads directory ??, don't know where you have it. After you are in that directory do this:

sudo mount -o loop ml2012au.iso /media/matlab
    Again hit the enter key. You should then be able to see the extracted files. Maybe there will be a readme file or instructions. I don't know anything about matlab so I would suggest you google install matlab on Ubuntu. I found a number of sites with instructions doing that so that might help.