Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Geeks A linux newbie here. Ive installed Ubuntu alongside with Windows in my PC. All OK here. I like Linux vs Windows, but I still need Windows to test ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Nen
    Just Joined!

Exclamation GRUB Not Booting from USB... HELP!

Hi Geeks

A linux newbie here.

Ive installed Ubuntu alongside with Windows in my PC.

All OK here. I like Linux vs Windows, but I still need Windows to test some programs.

The problem is, now I cannot boot from USB or CD:

I've created a bootable USB drive from Windows with no apparent problems.

When I set in the BIOS to boot from the USB, that part at least goes normally, but then I'm shown a grub> command prompt.

Trying the command "boot", I get Error 8: Kernel must be loaded before booting. So, how do I continue from there?

Why this does not works normally like before installing Ubuntu in my PC?

This has happens when using a LiveCD (a bootable CD) and botting from the CD drive.

What is needed to launch the install process from the grub prompt?

Or... can I uninstall Grub 2 altogether and go just with the Windows Bootloader as before?

Thanks a lot in advance

Nen
    Just Joined!
    When I enter "ls" i get:

Error25: Disk read error

Linux Guru
    Are you using the most recent Ubuntu 12.10?
    Which windows version are you using?
    How did you install Ubuntu? Did you create a bootable usb with the Ubuntu installation media on it?
    Did you download and burn the Ubuntu image to a CD? or DVD? and install from there?
    If so, does your comment above mean you selected the option in the Ubuntu install media to "install Alongside other operating system"?

I'm a little confused by your question about "what is needed to launch the install process from the grub prompt"?
    You won't get a grub prompt from an installation media as it uses a different bootloader - isolinux or syslinux.