Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
New to Linux using Ubuntu 10.04. I installed a software package. Symantec shows that it is installed. Aptitude shows that it is installed. It isn't in any of the menus ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5

    Where did it go?


    New to Linux using Ubuntu 10.04. I installed a software package. Symantec shows that it is installed. Aptitude shows that it is installed. It isn't in any of the menus and I've tried to trace the executable via file search and can't find it. It does show the files in Symantec under Properties > Installed Files but I still can't find the correct file/pathname to create a menu entry.
    What am I doing wrong here?

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Howdy there!

    I guess that the first question is: What did you install?
    Second: Did you install it via package manager, or from source code?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    Howdy there!

    I guess that the first question is: What did you install?
    Second: Did you install it via package manager, or from source code?
    The installed package is tesseract-ocr ver 2.04-2
    Installed with dpkg. I have the dpkg log if that would help...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    awc
    awc is offline
    Just Joined! awc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    40
    Try using dpkg to locate the package

    Code:
    $ sudo dpkg -l tesseract-ocr
    If that's successful then find out what files were installed with the package

    Code:
    sudo dpkg -L tesseract-ocr
    Otherwise install using apt-get

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install tesseract-ocr

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by awc View Post
    Try using dpkg to locate the package

    Code:
    $ sudo dpkg -l tesseract-ocr
    This returned:
    sudave@sudave-desktop:~$ sudo dpkg -l tesseract-ocr
    Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
    | Status=Not/Inst/Cfg-files/Unpacked/Failed-cfg/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
    |/ Err?=(none)/Reinst-required (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
    ||/ Name Version Description
    +++-==============-==============-============================================
    ii tesseract-ocr 2.04-2 Command line OCR tool


    I suspect that all means that the install was not properly completed (?) so I'll try step 3 in your suggestion.

    If that's successful then find out what files were installed with the package

    Code:
    sudo dpkg -L tesseract-ocr
    Otherwise install using apt-get

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install tesseract-ocr
    This returned the following:

    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    tesseract-ocr is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    [/COLOR]
    Already installed? OK Back to step 2

    Step 2 returned:




    /.
    /usr
    /usr/bin
    /usr/bin/cntraining
    /usr/bin/mftraining
    /usr/bin/tesseract
    /usr/bin/unicharset_extractor
    /usr/bin/wordlist2dawg

    AND A BUNCH OF OTHERS



    According to a properties check, the /usr/bin/tesseract is an executable file. How does that go into the menu editor so the program will execute? Or isn't that the right file to execute?

  7. #6
    awc
    awc is offline
    Just Joined! awc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    40
    That's the right file to execute. tesseract isn't a graphical tool so it doesn't go into the menu. You have to use it from the command line. Check out the man page for more info.

    Code:
    $ man tesseract 
    
    NAME
           tesseract - command line OCR tool
    
    SYNOPSIS
           tesseract imagename outputbase [configfile] [-l <langid>]

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by awc View Post
    That's the right file to execute. tesseract isn't a graphical tool so it doesn't go into the menu. You have to use it from the command line. Check out the man page for more info.

    Code:
    $ man tesseract 
    
    NAME
           tesseract - command line OCR tool
    
    SYNOPSIS
           tesseract imagename outputbase [configfile] [-l <langid>]
    Ahhh. I see. That makes sense now, but was hard to see coming from MS Windows where everything has ended up as an icon or a menu item. Thanks to all who replied!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •