Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! I'm fairly new to the Ubuntu Distro, and I was wondering what's the difference between GTK+ and OpenGL? For example, I'm currently learning C to familiarize myself with the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question GTK+ and OpenGL

Hello! I'm fairly new to the Ubuntu Distro, and I was wondering what's the difference between GTK+ and OpenGL? For example, I'm currently learning C to familiarize myself with the Linux kernel so what does C have as a GUI interface ?

gtk is a widget toolkit. It provides things like windows, menus, buttons, labels and sliders. All graphical programs need to use a widget library of this sort and most use either gtk or qt. gtk usually goes with gnome and qt with KDE.

OpenGL is a system for drawing directly on video cards, if the card supports it (which any decent modern card does). It speeds things up in games, etc. Programs call openGL functions and the X-server directs them either to the card's gpu to be executed by the firmware or, if necessary, to the cpu to be executed rather more slowly using mesa library functions.

So the two things are quite different. And btw C doesn't have a GUI interface as such but there are GUI development tools that will help you to write C programs.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

Just Joined!
    Thank you Hazel for your response, It cleared up a lot!

Quote Originally Posted by JakeeL View Post
    Hello! I'm fairly new to the Ubuntu Distro, and I was wondering what's the difference between GTK+ and OpenGL? For example, I'm currently learning C to familiarize myself with the Linux kernel so what does C have as a GUI interface ?
    Wow, okay, there's just about every keyword in here (in no cohesive ordering, I might add). Let me try to clear things up where I can..