Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I downloaded a file that is called Gimp-help-2.8.0.tar.bz2. I put it on my desktop. I'm running Ubuntu 12.04 I understand that there is something that has to be done to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

Installing Gimp manual from a .tar.bz2 file

I downloaded a file that is called
    Gimp-help-2.8.0.tar.bz2. I put it on my desktop.
    I'm running Ubuntu 12.04 I understand that there is something that has to be done to this file before I can use it. It's a manual on how to use the Gimp.
    I'm not to familiar on how to work with this file as I'm a newbie with Ubuntu.
    Thank you for your help.
    Montana

oz
    forum.guy
    You can check the following thread for some instructions on extracting tar.bz2 files:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/new...2-command.html

Not certain about this, but I believe the extracted file will simply be a data file that you can store wherever you want it rather than it being an "installed" file. If it is to be installed, check the extracted folder for any installation instructions. If you need it actually installed, your default package tool would be the best method of fetching and installing it if the package is available in your distro package repository.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Hi,
    First step extracts the file
    Code:
    tar jxvf Gimp-help-2.8.0.tar.bz2
    and the Next step is the process of installation which is described in the file README or follow this process:

Code:
    $ ./configure
    $ make
    $ sudo make install
    Best Regards
    Last edited by wadha7o; 02-26-2013 at 02:39 PM. Reason: change the police of the word README

Linux Newbie
    I tried the above command and got the following results:

montana@montana-laptop:~$ tar -jxvf gimp-help-2.8.0.tar.bz2
    tar (child): gimp-help-2.8.0.tar.bz2: Cannot open: No such file or directory