Find the answer to your Linux question:
Thanks In advance, I am somewhat new to Linux, but I can get around on it. I enabled the Linux firewall from within Webmin. In Ubuntu 12.04 server. Since then ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Firewall in WebMin

Thanks In advance,

I am somewhat new to Linux, but I can get around on it.

I enabled the Linux firewall from within Webmin. In Ubuntu 12.04 server. Since then remote WAN access has ceased. Thus no web access to Apache2 server on port 80 nor even Webmin on port 10000 from the WAN side of my router. I can still access it from the LAN. The Linux firewall is set to the defaults to allow access on all ports. I can ping these ports from the LAN and directly from the router but not from the WAN. Netstat shows the ports are listening. Tcpdump shows activity on those ports when trying to access from the WAN. I tried to completely disable the Linux firewall set not to run at reboot, but it seems to still be running. Any Ideas?

Regards

OK, first you don't enable the ubuntu firewall through webmin. What you're actually enabling is the webmin module that can interact with your firewall. Through that module you can set your firewall to "start at boot" and "save the rules" to a file in /etc; neither one of which is necessary (ISFAIK).

The ubuntu firewall is "uncomplicated firewall" (ufw) and there are lots and lots of ways to admin it through both the command line and the GUI.

Code:
    sudo ufw disable
    will disable it for testing.

Code:
    sudo apt-get install gufw
    will install one of the simplest GUI frontends for ufw.

Code:
    sudo ufw enable
    will turn it back on.

Code:
    sudo ufw status verbose
    will tell you a lot about its current status.

Code:
    man ufw
    will pull up a small novela and there's tons of docs on the net.