Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello. I have a question and I wasn't sure in which thread I should write about it, so I open a new thread. I hope that's okay. I'm new in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Sync files

Hello.

I have a question and I wasn't sure in which thread I should write about it, so I open a new thread. I hope that's okay.

I'm new in Linux and I have a homework to do a task: . Write a script that keeps your startup files ('~/.[a-z]*') synchronized among all the machines on which you have an account. Schedule this script to run regulary from cron. (Is is safe to blindly copy every file whose name starts with a dot? How will you handle directories? Should files being replaces on the destination machines be backed up before they are overwritten?)

I asked the teacher what exactly I have to do but I don't know if I understood it good. I found a command crontab, for example * * * * * /somefile and this means that the file will be sync every minute, hour and so on.. So first I must found files which start with . I tried to found these files which started with . : ls -a | grep '~/.[a-z]*', but nothing happened, so I don't know if I did it right. I don't understand what should I do: "Schedule this script to run regulary from cron" ? I have an idea how to connect a command which finds files which start with . and then a command I wrote before (* * * * */files_which_start_with_point). Then I would create a ramdisk (mount) and copy all files there. But I don't know how to check which files I should copy...

Please help me, I would be thankful if you give me some links which would explain this "easy to understand".
    Have a nice day,
    Talijana

Linux Guru