Find the answer to your Linux question:
I was very curious about this. Ultimate Edition swear they are their own OS built off a Ubuntu shell, but to me it seems it is just an edition of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Curiosity: Ubuntu and UE Same?

I was very curious about this. Ultimate Edition swear they are their own OS built off a Ubuntu shell, but to me it seems it is just an edition of Ubuntu with packages already installed and ready to go. Correct me if I am wrong. They advise you to not download updates while installing and say to only do sudo apt-get update after install. No upgrade and no package manager with only Kde Plasma desktop available after install. They also say do not do upgrade or manager because it will break your system. Hmmmm, I did and it's never been better. All works and so much more including different desktop environments. I will say that I am not a programmer and their is also much I do not understand, but I'm not a total idiot either. I posed this ? on their forums with my results. I was then asked a ? from a moderator and before I could reply, the topic was locked as solved making it appear that it was solved and that I did wrong by updating and broke my OS, which as far as I can tell, upgrade just improved on what I had. Nothings broke. more works! faster especially with boot time. Maybe I just haven't given it long enough to break? I may very well know jack sh**, but it seems to me that something doesn't add up. If it really does improve, why would they wanna lock us out.? They say that upgrade switches the OS to a Ubuntu os, which they are not. Hmmmm. Anybody is welcome to correct me if I am wrong as that is my purpose is to inquire about this. Thanks.

P.S. It is not my intent to offend, I'm just a straight shooter and expect no less from others.