Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, new to the forums, but not Linux. I have been using for around 3 years now, starting with ubuntu, moving through puppy and crunchbang, I have fallen in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

mount device not listed in mtab or fstab OR blkid

Hi guys, new to the forums, but not Linux. I have been using for around 3 years now, starting with ubuntu, moving through puppy and crunchbang, I have fallen in love with bodhi linux, I know its not Ubuntu and these are the forums, but it is close enough to ubuntu and for the sake of this problem, they are identicle.

So, I have a 4gb SD card that wont mount on insert, all the restof my SD cards will, but not this one. I remember having the same problem on Ubuntu and at least one other distro, windows also does not recognise it (whoda thought it?!)

so, I can see the partition table in fdisk, and I have played around with multiple FS types and options, I even re-wrote the partition table in parted to make sure it wasnt a partion table problem.

I cant mount at /mnt/### or /media/### even with confirming i have permissions.

It is not just this SD card that has problems, I also have one partition on my SSD that does not show. It used to, but only as read-only, so I attempted to reformat and add to fstab as a RW drive (just changing fstab was not working) and now I cannot see this partition at all except via fdisk.

So, any ideas on how to get acess to these drives. once I can mount I will take the UUID using blkid but its not happening.

Some readouts:

root# mount -t vfat /dev/sdb /media/tmpmnt/
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb,
    missing codepage or helper program, or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so
    root# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 16.1 GB, 16139354112 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1962 cylinders, total 31522176 sectors