Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi, I'm trying to host a server for the game Chivalry: Medieval Warfare therefore I need Wine since the server files are for Windows. I've encountered many problems which I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6

    Wine error


    Hi,

    I'm trying to host a server for the game Chivalry: Medieval Warfare therefore I need Wine since the server files are for Windows. I've encountered many problems which I was able to fix but I'm not able to fix this one. When I try to start the server or the command "winecfg" I'm getting this error:

    Code:
    Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
    Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
    If you know a possible solution for this, feel free to reply on this thread .

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40
    Are you running Wine on Mac?
    What does say the previous line (or two)?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    I'm running Wine on Ubuntu 12.04 x64,
    What do you exactly mean with previous line?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40
    Sounds strange on Ubuntu.
    Quote Originally Posted by Saryec View Post
    When I try to start the server or the command "winecfg" I'm getting this error:

    Code:
    Application tried to create a window, but no driver could be loaded.
    Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
    This sounds like your ~/.wine (so called wineprefix) directory is not clean or even containing broken config.

    Quote Originally Posted by Saryec View Post
    What do you exactly mean with previous line?
    Well you quoted two lines of the output above and I guess there should be more lines preceding these.
    If that's not the case, nevermind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Saryec View Post
    I've encountered many problems which I was able to fix but I'm not able to fix this one.
    Just out of curiosity, what steps have you made since the ~/.wine directory has been wiped and recreated last time?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    I tried adding a line in the ~/.profile file:
    Code:
    DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/X11/lib
    export DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH
    And I tried reinstalling Wine few times, also tried other versions.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40
    "DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH" is for MacOS X. If you remove these lines from ~/.profile, what happens?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    It's giving the same error.
    But I dont actually know what it means with:
    Code:
    Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by Saryec View Post
    It's giving the same error.
    Did you enable these changes (eg. logged off and on after saving the file) ?

    But I dont actually know what it means with:
    Code:
    Make sure that your X server is running and that $DISPLAY is set correctly.
    Basically it says it cannot find env-variable DISPLAY from your terminal.
    Lets check. For me the following command launched from xterm (within Xorg graphical system) says it finds such env-var:
    Code:
    $ set | grep DISPLAY
    DISPLAY=:0.0
    If I run the command from my text-mode console (eg. after going there by pressing Ctrl-Alt-F1 and logging in) then I get empy result:
    Code:
    $ set | grep DISPLAY
    $
    Last edited by saulius2; 07-02-2013 at 01:46 PM.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    40
    Hey, how are you doing with your Wine setup -- does it run now ?

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    6
    Hi,

    I didnt get it to work yet, I dont really know how to set up a display.
    I read somewhere that the server file wants to open up a display but it isnt able to since theres no GUI installed or something.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •