Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes
Hi, I'm a complete newbie to Ubuntu Linux and don't know how anything works.... Could you help me by telling me how to install Skype ? I did download one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to install skype on Ubuntu 13.04??

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to Ubuntu Linux and don't know how anything works....

Could you help me by telling me how to install Skype ? I did download one but then deleted it because wasn't sure if it was the correct one and it seemed very complicated to install it... different commands that I found out about on google...

Also how do I install FB, Twitter, and all the other stuff I used when I had Win7. I was told to download stuff from Software Centre, then I didn't need to worry abotu anythign dodgy... but when I looked for Skype I couldn't find it....

pss. how do I get my photos off nexus7 to my laptop?? Sorry it is a lot of different questions, but if anyone can at least start by helping me with skype to begin with and I can go from there...

It all seemed much easier with Win7... but I know it is all familiarity so...

Please help, I would be very greatful...

kp05

Linux Guru
    Have you tried opening the Software Center and just typing 'skype' (without quotes) in the Search box in the upper right? Hit the Enter key and it should come up and you can double click the entry for Skype and if it is not installed, that should show and you just click on the Install tab. If you don't see Skype when you do this, continue reading below.

According to the site below you may need to add a repository since it is proprietary software. Copy and paste and run the separate commands show on the page. You should be prompted for your primary user password.

How to install skype in ubuntu 12.04(Precise)*|*Ubuntu Geek