Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm a newbie and I think I've done something silly. I'm using Ubuntu - I was following instructions in a magazine doing some basic Python programming - I came ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Removed Python2.7 by mistake

Hi,

I'm a newbie and I think I've done something silly. I'm using Ubuntu - I was following instructions in a magazine doing some basic Python programming - I came across a problem and thought it was to do with Python 2.7 - Python 3 was present in /etc so I thought it would be OK to remove Python 2.7 with (pretty sure this was the command I used) "apt-get remove python2.7". After rebooting the laptop Ubuntu doesn't boot properly.

It boots up so far - gets as far as starting X but doesn't allow me to get to any applications or terminal window etc. I can boot up in recovery mode so I'm wondering if someone can point me in the right direction to restore without reinstalling.

Thanks !

Steve

Linux Engineer
    Interesting problem. Well, you can obviously try reinstalling python2.7. The issue is, with such a pivotal package, many other packages were uninstalled with it. When you remove a package, apt-get will also uninstall the packages that depend on that package. There's no telling what packages were removed. You'll have to look for the packages that were uninstalled in /var/log/apt/history.log

You can run grep Remove /var/log/apt/history.log | awk '{print $2}' > removed.out
    Then remove whichever packages you DON'T want to be installed from that file.
    Then, cat removed.out | xargs apt-get install -y --force-yes

That is about as automated as you're going to get. One thing to keep in mind, some packages and whatnot are setup automatically during installation when you install the system. Since you're just installing packages, you shouldn't break too much