Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is my first time using linux. I have a hp dv6000 which was running windows xp. Since I acquired this computer for free(was wiped totally clean) I was told ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Xubuntu not recognizing wireless.

This is my first time using linux. I have a hp dv6000 which was running windows xp. Since I acquired this computer for free(was wiped totally clean) I was told to use xubuntu 32 bit(newest version which I think was 13.10) Anyway I got it all loaded up and I must say its nice and simple. Still getting used to everything. I only need this computer for checking emails and taking care of my forum chapter. No gaming or constant movie watching.

My problem is my wireless doesnt work(orange light is on no matter what position my switch is in) Will connect to the internet if its hard wired in. I know its using broadcam bcm4311. Nothing shows up in the additional drivers tab either. Like I said this is my first time using it so its totally different from what im used to. Not a computer genius but I know my way around a computer somewhat.

In the menu bar at the top of the screen there is a network config tool, it looks like a up and down arrow next to each other. Have you opened that and configured the wireless settings?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by docbop View Post
    In the menu bar at the top of the screen there is a network config tool, it looks like a up and down arrow next to each other. Have you opened that and configured the wireless settings?
    Yeah nothing works.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close