Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone I am having trouble connecting to my nas4free server with my ubuntu laptop. It is running 12.04. So far I have made the /media/nas4free directory on the laptop ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Trying to connect to nas4free

Hi everyone

I am having trouble connecting to my nas4free server with my ubuntu laptop. It is running 12.04. So far I have made the /media/nas4free directory on the laptop itself but when I try to do this step I get an error:

any help is appreciated, I may be doing this wrong as I have never done this before
    Code:
    user@ChrUbuntu:~$ sudo mount -t cifs -o username=jreidsma //192.168.1.10/public /media/nas4free
    Password:
    mount error: cifs filesystem not supported by the system
    mount error(19): No such device
    Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)
    I was wanting it so I could edit the servers hard drive or files on this laptop like I can on my windows desktop. I just don't have any experience with servers like this or setting them up with other computers.

Trusted Penguin
    is the kernel module for samba loaded? e.g.:

Code:
    sudo modprobe cifs
    if still no joy:

Code:
    sudo apt-get --reinstall install cifs-utils
    another test: can you see the share using smbclient?

Code:
    smbclient -U jreidsma -L 192.168.1.10

Even after running the reinstall script I still get
    Code:
    FATAL: Module cifs not found
    Running the smb code I can see the IPC service, public storage folder, workgroup, and all that good stuff of the server.

On another forum I was told to try CTRL-L and type in smb://192.168.1.10/public to try it another way without the terminal. I get a popup saying:
    "Could not display "smb://192.168.1.10/public/".
    error: failed to mount windows share
    please select another viewer and try again.