Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
sorry for this silly question but how do you change or spoof rtorrent/or any program names in processes running. I dont know any C, so any help i appreciate it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6

    change rtorrent name in process


    sorry for this silly question but how do you change or spoof rtorrent/or any program names in processes running.

    I dont know any C, so any help i appreciate it very much.

  2. #2
    Just Joined! rajagenupula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27
    Needed more explanation to understand better.

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    you know when i do `ps aux` , the process name is 'bash -' but the real program run with that name is rtorrent. how do i do that

  4. #4
    Just Joined! rajagenupula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27
    You want to hide the original process name you mean ?

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by rajagenupula View Post
    You want to hide the original process name you mean ?

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk
    yes exactly

  6. #6
    Just Joined! rajagenupula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27
    Okay give me some time.I will let you know.

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by rajagenupula View Post
    Okay give me some time.I will let you know.

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk
    thanks you are my hero

  8. #8
    Just Joined! rajagenupula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27
    So I have posted a question for you in askubuntu.com to get more attention for your post and got few solutions.

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/38776...ith-other-name


    I am off to my PC from 4 days so not tried are they working or not.

    Try them my friend
    I am doing this from Mobile

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Just Joined! rajagenupula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    27
    Hello OP let me know about its working. If any errors use pastebin to post them.

    Sent from my ST26i using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •