Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
I am rather new to Linux having mostly a Windows background. My only experience is working with a NAS that uses a crippled form of Linux as it's firmware. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    DJM
    Just Joined!

Replacing a NAS

I am rather new to Linux having mostly a Windows background. My only experience is working with a NAS that uses a crippled form of Linux as it's firmware. I installed some packages and wrote some bash scripts. I want to build my own file server so I can run whatever apps I want to. Here is what I am thinking of doing and would like to get some feedback.

• OS - Ubuntu 64bit
    • Mini ITX/DTX case with 7 drive bays
    • multicore CPU
    • at least 16gb of memory
    • 2 - 750mb or 1tb hybrid drives in raid 1 for the OS
    • 4 - 3tb or 4tb drives in raid 6 for data with one bay for
      expansion
    • external Blu-ray drive for ripping

I'd like to run file services, media services for streaming movies to TV's and iDevices, streaming music (Logitech), mail server, virtual box, etc.

So here are my questions.

1. I was thinking of using H/W raid or is that overkill for this setup?
    2. Should I go with a different MB size?
    3. Any recommendations for MB?
    4. Any recommendations for cases?
    5. Any recommendation for CPU?

I think this will be a fun project and would like some input from the experts.

Thanks
    Don

You'll learn a lot from that project. There is a project called FreeNAS built on FreeBSD and uses ZFS filesystem you might want to download the software and check it out. Be a good way to check the hardware out you're going to use and see an working implementation before starting on your own.

FreeNAS For Home - FreeNAS Project