Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
All text (icons, toolbar, etc) started looking corrupt so I rebooted. Now, the only 2 drives I can find are the SSD with Ubuntu and a single other HDD that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    23

    Can't find HDDs after reboot


    All text (icons, toolbar, etc) started looking corrupt so I rebooted. Now, the only 2 drives I can find are the SSD with Ubuntu and a single other HDD that I've always used for misc stuff. I've saved all my media (movies, TV shows, etc) to other HDDs which showed up just fine before the reboot. I've always had to mount them after a reboot but they've been there and all I had to do to mount them was to click on them. Now, there's just no record of them. Prior to the reboot, I was watching a saved video on one of the separate HDDs (none are external). I went back into the movie viewer app and it was there in the history but when I tried to play it from there, it said file not found.

    If it was just a single HDD that couldn't be found, I'd figure it was the fault of that HDD but this is 3 (or 4?) of them all at once so it must be something else.

    Anybody have any suggestions???

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    122
    Hello SammyO. Thank you for writing.

    To know more about Please post the output of the following commands using root user (it is not necessary in all of them, but just to be sure and to save time). Also, kindly inform us of the hardware you are using and any recent changes that might have led to the icons issue (in case it persists).


    Code:
    # df -h
    and

    Code:
    # blkid
    Just in case, the hash sign is not part of the command. It would represent that you're using root privilege.

  3. #3
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,570
    also post the output of
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    or as in some distributions you may need to enter
    Code:
    sudo /sbin/fdisk -l
    That's a lower case L at the end of each command.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    23
    (df -h)
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sde1 106G 4.0G 97G 4% /
    udev 1.9G 4.0K 1.9G 1% /dev
    tmpfs 791M 964K 790M 1% /run
    none 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
    none 2.0G 140K 2.0G 1% /run/shm
    /dev/sdc1 932G 382G 551G 41% /media/old hdd
    (blkid)
    nothing shows up
    (sudo fdisk -l)
    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x570b3796

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 63 1953520064 976760001 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x46a7a310

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 63 1953520064 976760001 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk /dev/sdc: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x704b4192

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdc1 * 63 1953520064 976760001 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk /dev/sdd: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xc21c55c2

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdd1 * 2048 1953521663 976759808 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

    Disk /dev/sde: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders, total 234441648 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0009c4d1

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sde1 * 2048 226056191 113027072 83 Linux
    /dev/sde2 226058238 234440703 4191233 5 Extended
    /dev/sde5 226058240 234440703 4191232 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    I hope this isn't a hardware issue. If I absolutely had to reinstall Ubuntu, I guess I could although I'd be pretty frustrated. If it's a hardware issue, I'll buy a laptop (which I can't afford) and go back to Windows.

    My OS SSD is a Kingston HyperX 3K 120gb, various other HDDs for my misc stuff, ASUS M4A90GTD Pro mobo, EVGA GeForce GTS 450, AMD Phenom II 965 quad @ 3.4ghz, 4gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 ram (1333) all in a 5 year old Antec 1200 case. I built this myself about 3 years ago. Never had this problem with Windows (XP and 7 Ultimate) and haven't had this issue with Ubuntu until last night (1 week).

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    23
    I found them or more precisely, Shutter found them. I was taking a screen shot of the file tree to post and had to pick which folder to save them to. I saw my missing HDDs (folders) in the drop down menu and thought I'd choose them just to see what would happen. It saved the screen shot to each of the HDDs (folders) then they showed up in the taskbar. I could swear, every time I'd reboot, all the HDDs showed in my home folder but weren't mounted until I clicked on them. They didn't show up this time but do now. What am I doing wrong? Is there something in a menu somewhere that will automatically mount these on startup? Without having to open Shutter, how would I find these in the future? I'm afraid to reboot now.

    I'm confused. I'm already beginning to think this is over my head.

    Running those commands now, this is the extra data that shows up:

    /dev/sdd1 932G 726G 207G 78% /media/Media 3
    /dev/sda1 932G 282G 650G 31% /media/Media II
    /dev/sdb1 932G 736G 197G 79% /media/TV

    The disk identifier changed and the other HDDs showed up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •