Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Like Tree1Likes
Please let me first start off by saying I have absolutly NO computer skills. None. That being said, I have an old PC that had a crash, a friend removed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    8

    Please Help! Noob can't watch Youtube.


    Please let me first start off by saying I have absolutly NO computer skills. None.

    That being said, I have an old PC that had a crash, a friend removed Windows and installed Lubuntu 12.10 (according to what he wrote on the disc) My computer worked fairly well, it was a bit of a change, but something I got used to.

    Everyday, I would get update reminders from Lubuntu that drove me nuts and I dismissed them, but when I finally got annoyed and accepted the update, I lost my ability to watch YT or pretty much anything that has motion while using Firefox. If I switch to Chromium, I can get certian vids, but not all of them. The videos that work, look excellent.

    The symtoms are anything like YT videos or moving ads on websites (like the ad above as I'm typing this) is just showing up as a "negative". Instead of red being red, it's blue or green. Black is yellow and so on, similar to scrambled channels back in the days of 6 foot satilite dishes in the back yard. Audio, however is excellent. Up until yesterday when I reset Firefox,(whoops) I could see yt vids perfectly if they were put up on a forum. I have no idea why.

    Is there anyone that can explain to me what I need to do get my PC back? Here's the trick though, I am totally unfamiliar with Lubuntu or anything similar. I know a bit about Windows, but it's very limited. Is there anyone that can help me to get this back to working like it did before I messed with it, but can also explain it so even a Machinist like me can understand?

    Thank You so much for your valuable time,
    Chad.

    P.S. Poopdog is the name of my dog and I couldn't come up with anything better.
    Last edited by Poopdog; 03-04-2014 at 01:18 AM.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    8

    Please Help! Noob can't watch Youtube.

    Please let me first start off by saying I have absolutly NO computer skills. None.

    That being said, I have an old PC that had a crash, a friend removed Windows and installed Lubuntu 12.10 (according to what he wrote on the disc) My computer worked fairly well, it was a bit of a change, but something I got used to.

    Everyday, I would get update reminders from Lubuntu that drove me nuts and I dismissed them, but when I finally got annoyed and accepted the update, I lost my ability to watch YT or pretty much anything that has motion while using Firefox. If I switch to Chromium, I can get certian vids, but not all of them. The videos that work, look excellent.

    The symtoms are anything like YT videos or moving ads on websites (like the ad above as I'm typing this) is just showing up as a "negative". Instead of red being red, it's blue or green. Black is yellow and so on, similar to scrambled channels back in the days of 6 foot satilite dishes in the back yard. Audio, however is excellent. Up until yesterday when I reset Firefox,(whoops) I could see yt vids perfectly if they were put up on a forum. I have no idea why.

    Is there anyone that can explain to me what I need to do get my PC back? Here's the trick though, I am totally unfamiliar with Lubuntu or anything similar. I know a bit about Windows, but it's very limited. Is there anyone that can help me to get this back to working like it did before I messed with it, but can also explain it so even a Machinist like me can understand?

    Thank You so much for your valuable time,
    Chad.

    P.S. Poopdog is the name of my dog and I couldn't come up with anything better.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer docbop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Woodshed, CA
    Posts
    943
    Here's instructions for Firefox

    Installing Flash on Ubuntu

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    8
    OK, Thank you!

    When trying to download Adobe, right after clicking "Download" Firefox pops up with "This link needs to be opened with an application. Send to:" I can then choose an application, but I don't know what application to use? All I see is a few things I have downloaded and my desktop. If this were Windows there would be a "Open with windows" or "search online" or something similar. Am I right in this thinking? If so what is the Lubuntu way?

    Thanks again for any help on this matter.

  5. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,570
    The first question is, do you know what graphics card is in the computer? If not you can find out by running
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i vga
    in a terminal, which lists everything on the PCI bus and then limits it to vga only.

    In the mean time, if these are Flash videos, try right clicking on one and choosing settings. Make sure the first tab (Display) is selected and flip the "Enable hardware acceleration" switch.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    8
    By right clicking on a YT vid, I see that I have Adobe 11.2.202.341 and it's enabled. I hope that helps. So maybe it's not from a lack of a flash player?

    I right clicked on a YT vid and it said I have Adobe 11.2.202.341 installed and enabled, though it was nearly impossible to read as it was blended in with the background of the "negative" from the video. I tried to capture a screen shot, but I can't get it to open in Linux Paint like I could with Windows.

    The atached pic is the best I can do to show you gyus what I'm dealing with. I would have used a photobucket pic, but I dodn't have enough posts in to put up links or pics apparently.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Poopdog; 03-04-2014 at 04:54 PM.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    8
    I was able to watch yt vids for years until I did the "upgrade" patch a few months ago. The graphics card was never touched. I tried the above code you mentioned, but I didn't understand what it was saying. If you need that info, I can type out everything it said, but I can't copy and paste it for some reason.

    I right clicked on a YT vid and it said I have Adobe 11.2.202.341 installed and enabled, though it was nearly impossible to read as it was blended in with the background of the "negative" from the video. I tried to capture a screen shot, but I can't get it to open in Linux Paint like I could with Windows.

    The atached pic is the best I can do to show you gyus what I'm dealing with. I would have used a photobucket pic, but I dodn't have enough posts in to put up links or pics apparently.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,312
    There's a couple of ways to copy and paste in a terminal. Try selecting the text and Ctrl-Shift-C to copy. Pasting into a terminal can be done with Ctrl-Shift-P. This will use the same buffer as Ctrl-P or Ctrl-C in a gui window.

    You can copy by selecting text and pushing both the left and right buttons. If you have a three button mouse the third button will do this. You paste by using the same combination without selecting.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by gregm View Post
    There's a couple of ways to copy and paste in a terminal. Try selecting the text and Ctrl-Shift-C to copy. Pasting into a terminal can be done with Ctrl-Shift-P. This will use the same buffer as Ctrl-P or Ctrl-C in a gui window.

    You can copy by selecting text and pushing both the left and right buttons. If you have a three button mouse the third button will do this. You paste by using the same combination without selecting.
    Ok thank you!

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,312
    I forgo to write that the buffer used by copy with mouse button isn't the same as the Ctrl-C buffer.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •