Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Question How and What should I read/study to can resolve this script?

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie on the world Shell Script. I just can build some scripts basically with the command which I used on the terminal. With the part algorithmic I don't have problem, but some functionality I can't and didn't know how around the situation.

I have the file .txt with more a less 800 000 lines with this structure:

Code:
     . └── raiz  1 directory 
    . ├── [ 16K]  ./raiz │   
    ├── [ 12K]  ./raiz/tgdf │   │ 
      ├── [6.0K]  ./raiz/tgdf/a_fazer │   │
       ├── [7.5K]  ./raiz/tgdf/a_fazer_5 │   │
       ├── [7.9M]  ./raiz/tgdf/analise_.pdf │   │   
    ├── [241K]  ./raiz/tgdf/141.pdf │   │  
     ├── [ 18M]  ./raiz/tgdf/Aulas.pdf ....
    Which I need to do?
    1. Create an array with called "values";
    2. Read the file .txt and import the data on each line (all line) for to index the array called "values";
    3. The array called "values" will have another array, called "info_line";
    4. In the index, about array called "info_line", will be placed which was after last slash "/";
    5. The value this last array, "info_line", will receive which be between characters [...] - e.g. 6.0K;

Basically I new create a multidimensionally array.
    The part which I don't know is "read the lines inside the file .txt" - collect exactly line by line. Collect the value which be after last slash "/".

I appreciate the guidance about how and what I should read an study for I can do this functionality. I have been reading about regular express, I think this is very useful to do this kind of jobs, am I correct?

I apologize about my level English, but if I can't explained the problem please tell me which I will try to explain the best I could. Thanks

I am a retired db programmer and I can steer you in the proper direction.