Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Posts
    11

    Linux Lite Video Issues


    I've been having this issue for a long time. I switched to Linux Lite 3.2 because I thought it might be a resource issue. What is happening is I can't watch any kind of video, YouTube, Facebook, or movies I've downloaded because the video freezes while the audio carries on. I don't know what the problem is but I do know I didn't have this problem with Windows 7.

  2. #2
    please open a terminal and enter these commands:
    Code:
    uname -rv
    lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d'
    and post their output, incl. the commands themselves, here, between code tags.
    thank you.
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by nihili View Post
    please open a terminal and enter these commands:
    Code:
    uname -rv
    lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d'
    and post their output, incl. the commands themselves, here, between code tags.
    thank you.
    brad@brad-AOD257:~$ lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d'
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller
    Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller
    Kernel driver in use: i915
    Kernel modules: i915
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller
    Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller
    brad@brad-AOD257:~$

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    and now the other command please:
    Quote Originally Posted by nihili View Post
    please open a terminal and enter these commands:
    Code:
    uname -rv
    meanwhile:
    https://duckduckgo.com/?q=linux+grap...%2FN4xx%2FN5xx
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Posts
    11
    brad-AOD257:~$ uname -r
    4.4.0-66-generic
    brad-AOD257:~$

  7. #6
    no, uname -rv please.
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Posts
    11
    [brad@brad-AOD257:~$ uname -rv
    4.4.0-66-generic #87-Ubuntu SMP Fri Mar 3 15:27:09 UTC 2017
    brad@brad-AOD257:~$ ]

  9. #8
    what sort of hardware is this?
    according to this page, your gpu has been used in old netbooks.
    is it one of those?
    if not, which one? precise specs please.
    are you sure you have windows 7 running on the same machine?
    what sort of video (the stuff that you don't play through your web browser)? how is it encoded? what media player are you using for that?

    is linux lite based on ubuntu 16.04?
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Posts
    11
    I don't understand why you're asking me these questions... You know it's not a new laptop and it doesn't have a lot of RAM, I stated this from the beginning. It is an Acer Aspire One and no it is not new. Why are you asking me about my operating system? I already stated that I'm running Linux Lite 3.2 which I believe is Ubuntu based (you should know this). I chose this distribution because it said it was good for old machines short on RAM. I never said I was running Windows 7 now. I said I never had this problem when I was running Windows 7. And again I will tell you... I'm having this issue with every kind of video. Facebook tells me my flashplugin needs updating but the updater says all is good. It happens with YouTube videos and it happens when I play downloaded movies on VLC. Every video, every time, doesn't matter where it comes from or what I play it on.

  11. #10
    you know what, i just posted a helpful answer but now i deleted it again because you are such an ignorant and unfriendly ***.
    go, fsck yourself.
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •