Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Please help a noob install his tplink wn722N driver

Hi everyone

i am new to linux and have the past 3 years downloaded 3 versions of ubuntu but always revert back to windows because i cannot get drivers installed, i am now asking for help for the first time to see if someone could perhaps assist ?

i am trying to install a tplink-wn722n adapter however

i bought another adapter which is the tp-link WN823N thinking it might be easier to install, but turned out from my little research that it is in fact harder to install than the WN722N adapter so i think i should stick trying to install the WN722N then ? i want to use the adapter which is easiest to install.

I am so tired of windows and would really like to go linux, dropping the windows shackles and sending it's bloatware to oblivion now permanently if only i can get my wireless adapter installed.

I installed ubuntu-17.04-desktop-amd64 on a clean disk

I searched for a guide to install my adapter and found 3 different ones but none relating to the 17.04 version of ubuntu, this is the one i'm trying to follow:

(askubuntu url i am not allowed to post the url as i have not made 15 posts yet)

Please can anyone help with a step by step guide on instalation of my wireless adapter which is a tp-link WN722N

The first thing i encounter is that the guide asks me to update the compiler/installer ? by typing in:

sudo apt-get update

However as this is the wireless device i need to use to connect to the internet, i cannot connect to the internet as it needs to be installed first. Is there another way i can get the update perhaps via a windows system connected to internet or another way of installing the device ?

Without doing anything but trying to detect the adapter in the terminal running a command i forgot.