Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
I'm VERY new to Linux, just installed Ubuntu tonight (the most recent one). I had a little help from a buddy but I cannot for the life of me figure ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    17

    Add Kernel Module?


    I'm VERY new to Linux, just installed Ubuntu tonight (the most recent one). I had a little help from a buddy but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get my NIC card recognized. A buddy of mine helped me find that the NIC card works with the 3x95x module. But I have no idea how to add a kernel to the module (I probably got that wrong, but I'm a newb ). So can someone help me out?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    What is the card exact model?

    What is the output of (in a terminal)
    Code:
    lspci
    And
    Code:
    uname -a
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    17
    Here's what I found on it:

    http://www.exiledmind.net/inspiron?P...8ac045e92e4508

    It's an Inspiron 2650.

    And you kinda lost me on what to do.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    I mean if you are to configure your NIC properly what have to know the exact model of the card.

    Typing
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i ethernet
    in a terminal (gnome-terminal) will tell you the exact model.

    And issuing the command
    Code:
    uname -a
    in a terminal will tell you which kernel you are using.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    17
    OK when I did

    Code:
    lspci | grep -i ethernet
    I got: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M rev 78

    When I did uname -a I got:

    2.6.12-9-386 #1 Mon Oct 10 13:14:36 BST 2005 i686 GNU/Linux

  6. #6
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Ok, this is a very standard ethernet card.

    I see you have installed Ubuntu 5.10, with default linux-kernel.

    The proper module should load itself automatically.

    The module for this card is "3c59x", you can verify that it is loaded with (in a terminal)
    Code:
    lsmod | grep -i 3c59x
    If not, you can load the module:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe 3c59x
    Normally with a card like that, it should work "out-of-box".
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    17
    OK, so it SHOULD work off a fresh install, right? Well, I plugged in an ethernet cable to check if I could get online, and I could not. So what would be the next step?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Is the module loaded?
    Code:
    lsmod | grep -i 3c59x
    ?

    Is your network using DHCP?

    Do you have a modem? A router? What is your network configuration?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    17
    OK everytime I type a command you said to I pretty much got the same output:
    3c59x 37544 0
    mii 5248 1 3x59x

    Yes I'm using DHCP. I'm using high speed broadband (cable) and I use a router with wireless encryption (but for now, it's gonna be wired until I feel comfortable with Linux).

  10. #10
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    So everything should be OK. The modules is already inserted.

    Issu that command for more details:
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •