Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have been trying to install RaLink drivers as per 'readme' till I got to 'make all': questa@Questa:~/RT61_Linux_STA_Drv1.0.4.0/Module$ make all bash: make: command not found questa@Questa:~/RT61_Linux_STA_Drv1.0.4.0/Module$ sudo make all sudo: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9

    Question Help! Can't install RaLink 2561 drivers!!!


    I have been trying to install RaLink drivers as per 'readme' till I got to 'make all':

    questa@Questa:~/RT61_Linux_STA_Drv1.0.4.0/Module$ make all
    bash: make: command not found
    questa@Questa:~/RT61_Linux_STA_Drv1.0.4.0/Module$ sudo make all
    sudo: make: command not found[/INDENT]

    I got instruction to check whether make all was installed:

    questa@Questa:~$ ls -l /usr/bin/make
    ls: /usr/bin/make: No such file or directory
    questa@Questa:~$ /usr/bin/make
    bash: /usr/bin/make: No such file or directory

    then:

    questa@Questa:~$ sudo apt-get install build-essential
    Password:
    E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

    What should I do next???

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by Koech
    E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?
    Are you trying to install a package from the command line while synaptic is open?

    Does sudo works well in general? I mean, you can get root privileges with it?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    I don't know whether synaptic is open. How please can I know? And if so avoid?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    sudo works well i just did a mkdir successfuly

  5. #5
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by Koech
    I don't know whether synaptic is open. How please can I know? And if so avoid?
    Synaptic is a program, I guess you should know if you opened it or not. Make sure it is closed if you want to use apt-get, or else just use synaptic.

    Here is a how-to:
    http://monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing.html
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    I realised synaptics was on since I was updating Ubuntu. I've figured my way to use synaptics to update build-essential. I hope it works.
    Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •