Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1

    Total n00b, need help installing


    Really my first time using linux properly, I've played around with slackware but nothing serious. Decided to switch to Kubuntu after I got sick of windows and the crap it was giving me. So, how do I install things? I've looked around for a bit but nothing really makes sense. I have firefox and amsn tar's, and they're extracted but I kinda get lost from there. I tried running the config on amsn like the install file said to, but it says I don't have a c compiler in $Path. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and detailed explanations would help cause I'm new to this.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Just Joined! Apollo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    65
    Ok, so your using Kubuntu, good choice . You've downloaded the source correct? You've tried the ./configure etc or whatever instructions the install file gives you? If it says you don't have a C compiler, I suggest you go to Synaptic and do a search for anything to do with a C compiler. GCC is a great place to start. Try install GCC, although I think it should already be installed if your using K/Ubuntu. Give a search then install if necessary then try to run your install again.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast aysiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    This guide will tell you generally how to install software in Ubuntu:
    http://www.monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing

    It's targeted toward Ubuntu (not Kubuntu), but the same principles apply.
    For a screenshot-less tutorial that applies to both Ubuntu and Kubuntu equally:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installingsoftware

    For the latest version of Firefox and aMSN, delete your downloaded files and use these two scripts to install them for you:

    Firefox
    aMSN

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Thanks! managed to get them both installed. Love that amsn script btw : D

    Now another question: How do i get a USB thumbdrive to work? I put mine in, but it doesnt seem to be recognized.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast aysiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by [nerd]
    Thanks! managed to get them both installed. Love that amsn script btw : D
    Glad they worked out for you.

    Now another question: How do i get a USB thumbdrive to work? I put mine in, but it doesnt seem to be recognized.
    That's odd. It should just be plug-and-play. Can you plug in the USB drive and then post back here the output of these commands?
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    df -h
    cat /etc/fstab
    The place to put the commands is here: KMenu > System > Konsole

  7. #6
    Disk /dev/hda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 7179 57665286 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 7180 9621 19615365 83 Linux
    /dev/hda3 9622 9729 867510 5 Extended
    /dev/hda5 9622 9729 867478+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Disk /dev/sda: 515 MB, 515899392 bytes
    16 heads, 32 sectors/track, 1968 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 512 * 512 = 262144 bytes



    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 1968 503792 e W95 FAT16 (LBA)

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda2 19G 2.0G 16G 11% /
    tmpfs 507M 0 507M 0% /dev/shm
    tmpfs 507M 13M 494M 3% /lib/modules/2.6.12-9-386/volatile
    /dev/sda1 492M 285M 208M 58% /media/sda1


    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda2 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/hda5 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0


    there you go, the output of all the commands

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast aysiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    According to your output, it's already mounted at /media/sda1

    Have you taken a look at the /media folder to see if it's in there?

    I don't know why it didn't just pop onto your desktop, but it is mounted and available.

  9. #8
    media folder shows my hdd and my cd rom drive, no USB drive.

    gives me this error message when i plug it in "An error occurred while loading media:/sda1:
    The file or folder media:/sda1 does not exist."

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    204
    Try sudo mkdir /media/sda1 then plug in drive.
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

  11. #10
    I did that, and gives me the same message.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •