Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, i've been tinkering with Linux for a couple months now, first distro i tried was debian, when when i tried to upgrade KDE to 3.5 gave me a mess ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

umm, just a little help here please..

Ok, i've been tinkering with Linux for a couple months now, first distro i tried was debian, when when i tried to upgrade KDE to 3.5 gave me a mess of problems in konqueror.. so i downloaded a distro that came with a newer version od kde, namely kubuntu. Now i'm having some issues i managed to get resolved in debian before but i cannot get them resolved in here, here a little list.

Locking my ip address - when i try to do this in the KDE control panel, i loost all network access until i set it bach to dhcp (which i don't want to do, makes it hard to serve that way)

Getting Limewire (latest from website) working - I've tried the rpm and alien'd it, and also tried the "other" version, both result in an "error on line 44" message.

The arts control applet for KDE - I get an error saying it's not installed, yet isn't arts the KDE sound engine and me getting sound in KDE should be a good sign arts is working?

Other issues are trivial, like amarok not showing my files which isn't a problem since i mostly use either xine for things, or xmms. amarok's just easier fot the computer-illiterates that use my computer. and for some silly reason KSysGuard shows no monitors and no processes (makes it a little tricky to kill a dead process) but not a big deal i suppose.

Anyways, any help anyone could give me on any of this would be appreciated, i'm almost considering just spendin the time downloadin the whole cd-set for Fedora or Redhat lol, maybe i won't get issues with those distros, but c'est la vive, such is the way of open-source.

Just Joined!

alrighty