Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
hi everyboy, just downloaded and installed kubuntu 606rc on my system. no previous contact with linux/unix. the installation was ok and my cabmodem was already working without any procedure of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8

    new to kubu/linux having some probs (firefox?)


    hi everyboy, just downloaded and installed kubuntu 606rc on my system. no previous contact with linux/unix. the installation was ok and my cabmodem was already working without any procedure of my part. i already use firefox on windows so i decided to get it. downloaded the compressed file of the latest version in firefox.com and using the kde i extracted it to /home/reg/firefox. I tried since then to run the browser but nothing. clicking inside konqueror over firefox-bin or firefox (script) takes to nowhere, no message, nothing. with the konsole is the same. after a lot of searching on the web i managed to change the file attributes, and i've changed for all the files in the directory and the directory itself to triple rwx if possible, but nothing. i can't also move the files to /opt for example, it says i don't have permission, even after switching to root attribute from the account manager. what's going wrong? i've found a good tutor here: http://monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing.html but already tried what's there. another question: is ubuntu different from other distros regarding the "root" account? thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    The easiest way to install Firefox would be to use Ubuntu/Kubuntu's Firefox package. You can install it with "synaptic" or "apt-get":
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install firefox
    Quote Originally Posted by ze mane
    is ubuntu different from other distros regarding the "root" account?
    Not that much, it uses "sudo" by default and the root account isn't configured by default, that's about it.

    You can configure the root account manualy.
    Code:
    sudo passwd
    and type the root password that you'd like to use.

    Later you can access the root account with
    Code:
    su
    See Ubuntu's wiki:
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RootSudo
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    thanks for the fast reply, i appreciate your help. tried the sudo pass/su it's ok thanks, but the apt-get returned me this message:
    reg@reg-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get install firefox
    Password:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Package firefox is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source
    However the following packages replace it:
    libnss3
    E: Package firefox has no installation candidate

    reg@reg-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get install libnss3
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    libnss3 is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    couldn't find the synaptic, i all have is the adept installer. anyway what's wrong with my 1st attempt, why the excutable files don't run when i click them ?

  4. #4
    Linux User towy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322
    tsk
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install mozilla-firefox
    should work
    free/libre/open software for the people by the people
    Linux user #185360

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    ^no... the same answer...

  6. #6
    Linux User towy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    322
    Are you connected to the internet in ubuntu?
    can you post the contents of /etc/apt/sources.list
    free/libre/open software for the people by the people
    Linux user #185360

  7. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by ze mane
    reg@reg-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get install firefox
    Password:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Package firefox is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source
    However the following packages replace it:
    libnss3
    Firefox replaced by libnss3? That's very unlikely.

    Like Towy71 said, what is the content of your /etc/apt/sources.list file?

    You might want to take a look here:
    http://easylinux.info/wiki/Ubuntu_dapper#Repositories
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast aysiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    633
    If you want the Firefox from Mozilla, this installation script will make your life a lot easier.

    If you want Ubuntu's Firefox, a simple
    Code:
    sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude install firefox
    will work provided you have the right repositories enabled (that's that sources.list everyone keeps talking about).

    As for root and permissions:
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RootSudo
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/permissions

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8
    thank you all. I checked the file and it's fully commented, every line, probably because my modem was off when i installed it, i don't know. i tried to save after the changes but i couldn't, closed it, changed to root and opened again, but even so there was no way i could set the attributes, it's gray (all). i can't move the files to other directories too, what now?

  10. #10
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by ze mane
    what now?
    Did you try the link I posted yesterday?
    http://easylinux.info/wiki/Ubuntu_dapper#Repositories
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •