Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Ok so i've been running linux for a preaty good time now and have grown to it, any ways I have a Nvidia Ge-Force MX 4000 got that working and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! cookie12243's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16

    Question Display Problem


    Ok so i've been running linux for a preaty good time now and have grown to it, any ways I have a Nvidia Ge-Force MX 4000 got that working and I could could have display settings from 320x240 - 1024x800 and anyway I have a Dell monitor that works fine and what not, ny way so I was re-texturing Planet Penguin Racer and then went to Konsole and typed 'ppracer' a black screen came up then all the LEDs on my monitor started flashing and could get the dumb thing to work so I rebooted Kubuntu and then the screen display was eh, 640x480 so I right clicked on my desktop and selected 'Configure Desktop' then selected 'Display' and to my surprise there were only 320x240 and 640x480 available and witha refresh rate of 60 Hz. At first I thought my card was screwed then I fired up Grand Theft Auto Vice City and that worked perfect so my question is how do I get it back to 1024x800 resoulotion?

    Distro=Kubuntu
    Card=Nvidia Geforce MX 4000
    Monitor=Dell
    Xconf file=normal

  2. #2
    Just Joined! HellioN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    8
    What do you mean by "Xconf file=normal"?

  3. #3
    Just Joined! cookie12243's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    that means I didnt modify it

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Although you may not have modified it, it may have been modified by something else accidentally. Can you post the "Display" subsection of your xorg.conf file?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined! cookie12243's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:2:10:0"
    EndSection

    <I know it says Intel I know but it has always been like that>

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by cookie12243
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:2:10:0"
    EndSection

    <I know it says Intel I know but it has always been like that>
    That's the "Device" section. The one I'm looking for is the "Display" section.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #7
    Just Joined! cookie12243's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Device		"Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device"
    	Monitor		"DELL E551"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		1
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		4
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		8
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		15
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		16
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		24
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    there ya go seems normal to me?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    You're right. I don't see anything out of the ordinary there. I'm stumped.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #9
    Just Joined! cookie12243's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    let me try and unplug my comp for a little, maybe a monitor overheat? Ill reply back later.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! cookie12243's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    Good news it works! Thanks for the replys, though

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •