Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a novice. I am using Ubuntu. I dont know how to update anything. I clicked on update under the menu and it said everything is up to date. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing Software

I am a novice. I am using Ubuntu. I dont know how to update anything. I clicked on update under the menu and it said everything is up to date. However, I have firefox 1.05. I downloaded the new one and extracted to temp. Now i dunno how to run it or install it. Tried /configure, ./configure, make... nothing is working. What should I do? Feeling quite handicapped in this new system.

TIA for all the efforts and your precious time.

Welcome to the linux community
    There are comprehensive instructions for installing the latest firefox here
    Have fun
    free/libre/open software for the people by the people
    Linux user #185360

Just Joined!
    Stumped!!
    I used that GUI based program to update my things. ANd it worked. But later when it was closing it said Run firefox the normal way that you would. I selected the icon and stuff but its all broken now. I know it has installed firefox to the folders bt how to run it?
    Then second on my laptop I dont see the power sign on the desktop ...it reads "Unknown Battery" It doesnt indicate that its direct ac power.

First i need to fix these and then i can go back to my ubuntu .
    Am i that dumb or am i that unsuitable for Linux??

We are all dumb but none of us are unsuitable for linux
    When you say thaat you selected the icon, you meant an icon on your desktop? If that is so, it probably points to the older version of firefox which is no longer there, he answer is to delete that shortcut and use the menu system instead.
    free/libre/open software for the people by the people
    Linux user #185360

Just Joined!
    I tried from menu as well.