Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, guys, here's the deal. I am a novice Linux user. In the Windows side of my life <<<shiver>>>, I'm a Domain Admin, used to running a Windows network. I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with installs

Ok, guys, here's the deal.

I am a novice Linux user. In the Windows side of my life <<<shiver>>>, I'm a Domain Admin, used to running a Windows network. I'm learning Linux, and am starting to feel comfortable with it. Currently using Kubuntu. Here's my question...

I am trying to install software (.tar.gz and .tar.bz2) using command line. Have done the following:

-Extracted archives (using "tar" command).

- I want to configure, make, and then make install to finish install proccess.

When I type ./configure, it tells me there is no file or directory.

Help please.

Thanks,

Hohua

It may be that you're not actually in the directory of the extracted files:
    for example, if there was a program called foo, and you downloaded foo.tar.gz, extracting it with
    Code:
    tar -xvzf foo.tar.gz
    would create a folder called foo in your current directory. You'd then need to change to that folder using
    Code:
    cd foo
    before you could run ./configure

HTH
    Toodle-oo
    Giles
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are powerless. Our greatest fear is Microsoft"
    Registered linux user #391027

Most of the time you won't need to do a ./configure to install software.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installingsoftware

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by hohua
    - I want to configure, make, and then make install to finish install proccess.

When I type ./configure, it tells me there is no file or directory.