Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is my first time with linux since Mandrake 7 and I'm having lots of problems and just don't know what to do. I've tried many things and have searched ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Newb with lots of probs

This is my first time with linux since Mandrake 7 and I'm having lots of problems and just don't know what to do. I've tried many things and have searched quite a bit and have found no easy answers. I really just can't seem to get anything to work. Here's a list. First, I can't make any changes. I have no administrative rights, I can't even change the clock. It just returns "su returned with an error" I've tried going into konsole and adding my username as a sudoer. All I get is that my authentication has failed. The password I chose is just one letter so there's no way it could be wrong. On top of that I can't install my integrated wireless. It's in an Acer aspire 3000. Tried installing ndiswrapper according to what I've seen in this forum and other places and it returns saying that it is not a gzip format file. I have no idea what to do and I'm frustrated. I really want to make this work. I'm using kubuntu 5.10. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I fixed the SU problem with editing under root with
    Code:
    nano /etc/sudoers
    Then adding
    Code:
    cookie ALL=(ALL) ALL
    <Cookie is my defualt user>

So mine now looks like this

Code:
    # /etc/sudoers
    #
    # This file MUST be edited with the 'visudo' command as root.
    #
    # See the man page for details on how to write a sudoers file.
    #

# Host alias specification

# User alias specification

# Cmnd alias specification

# Defaults

Defaults        !lecture,tty_tickets,!fqdn

# User privilege specification
    cookie  ALL=(ALL) ALL

Just Joined!

Unhappy Tried it, still don't know