Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have an HP Pavilion dv4000 and I am trying to set up my wifi. I have gone to the network set up but the drivers are not listed as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help with wifi setup

I have an HP Pavilion dv4000 and I am trying to set up my wifi. I have gone to the network set up but the drivers are not listed as a choice. I am new to linux and really wish to get rid of windows. Please help me set this up.

When I did the "lspci" command the network controller is intel corporation pro/wireless 2200bg. Hope this helps. I am also trying to set up the usb controllers.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by rreyes3000
    When I did the "lspci" command the network controller is intel corporation pro/wireless 2200bg.
    Which version of Ubuntu are you using?

Also, which kernel?

To get IPW2200 working, you have to copy the firmware in the /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware/ directory. Which firmware version depends of the IPW2200 driver version you are using.
    http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/firmware.php

Please post more details about your kernel
    Code:
    uname -a
    if you want more detailed help.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Just Joined!
    Well . . .I have just installed it this weekend when the new version came out. When I enter the "uname -a" command I get "utc 2006 i6 86 GNU/LINUX". It is the 6.06 LTS Dapper Drake. I hope this is the answer to you question.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by rreyes3000
    "uname -a" command I get "utc 2006 i6 86 GNU/LINUX". It is the 6.06 LTS Dapper Drake. I hope this is the answer to you question.
    You should more likely get something like that:
    Code:
    Linux ubuntu 2.6.15-23-686 #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue May 23 14:03:07 UTC 2006 i686 GNU/Linux
    out of the