Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
I meant did have you actually tried connecting to the internet using a dhcp client. Usually a distribution will have a system startup script that does this for you but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144

    I meant did have you actually tried connecting to the internet using a dhcp client. Usually a distribution will have a system startup script that does this for you but sometimes it can help to try to troubleshoot if you try to do it manually. So enter into a terminal and:

    as root or sudo

    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhcpcd eth0 OR dhclient eth0 (depending on the client that comes with ubuntu)
    ping -c2 google.com
    also what are the contents of /etc/conf.d/net (if ubuntu uses this location)
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    manualy starting it does nothing, theres nothing in his /etc/conf.d/net

  3. #13
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    What's up with your /etc/network/interfaces file?

    All those network devices? Where do they come from? This machine doesn't even have a firewire controller... It has a wireless card?

    Try to make a backup of it (/etc/network/interfaces):
    Code:
    sudo cp /etc/network/interfaces /etc/network/interfaces.bak
    and then simplify it a little:
    Code:
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    and restart.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    What's up with your /etc/network/interfaces file?

    All those network devices? Where do they come from? This machine doesn't even have a firewire controller... It has a wireless card?

    Try to make a backup of it (/etc/network/interfaces):
    Code:
    sudo cp /etc/network/interfaces /etc/network/interfaces.bak
    and then simplify it a little:
    Code:
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    and restart.
    nothing, removing those all did nothing

  5. #15
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Ok, can you post the output of
    Code:
    dmesg | grep eth
    And the exact /etc/network/interfaces you used?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    i tried a new network card that i know works fluently in linux, still nothing

  7. #17
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    We all would like to help you, but if don't give more information then that, it just isn't possible.

    Can you post the output of :

    Code:
    lscpi
    Code:
    dmseg | grep eth
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    Code:
    lsmod | grep e100
    ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #18
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    We all would like to help you, but if don't give more information then that, it just isn't possible.

    Can you post the output of :

    Code:
    lscpi
    Code:
    dmseg | grep eth
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    Code:
    lsmod | grep e100
    ?
    lscpi=nothing
    dmseg | grep eth is way to long to type out, like 3+ pages of stuff, it seems to repeat eth1: tx queue start entry 4 dirty entry 0.

    /etc/network/interfaces:

    iface eth0 inet dhco

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    iface eth1 inet dhcp

    auto eth2
    iface th2 inet dhcp

    auto ath0
    iface ath0 inet dhcp

    auto eth0

    ifconfig is quite long as well, basicly it shows that its not getting any packets sent back and forth from eth1

    lsmod | grep e100 did nothing, if thats related to the card itself, i changed it to see if another worked, it has a realtek rtl8139 network card in it.

  9. #19
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by a12ctic
    lscpi=nothing
    Sorry, I mean
    Code:
    lspci
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  10. #20
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Sorry, I mean
    Code:
    lspci
    lspci lists all the empy pci slots, the grapcics card and the ethernet controller, this may be a little easier with aim pm me your screenname if possible

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •