Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33
Originally Posted by a12ctic lspci lists all the empy pci slots, the grapcics card and the ethernet controller, That's what we need. Originally Posted by a12ctic this may be a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211

    Quote Originally Posted by a12ctic
    lspci lists all the empy pci slots, the grapcics card and the ethernet controller,
    That's what we need.

    Quote Originally Posted by a12ctic
    this may be a little easier with aim pm me your screenname if possible
    I'm not the only that can help you
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  2. #22
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    That's what we need.



    I'm not the only that can help you
    well heres the entry about the ethernet controller:

    0000:02:01.1 ethernet controller: realtek semiconductor co. ltd. rtl-8139/81390/8139C+ (rev 10)

  3. #23
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Ok, the module is called "8139too". Is it already inserted?
    Code:
    lsmod | grep 8139too
    ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Ok, the module is called "8139too". Is it already inserted?
    Code:
    lsmod | grep 8139too
    ?
    it outputted
    8139too 26880 0
    mii 5888 8139up, 8139too

  6. #25
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    So you did try with a /etc/network/interfaces containing only :
    Code:
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    ?

    Now you have eth0 set up as
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhco
    and I don't see how that can work.

    Just out of curiosity, what does
    Code:
    lsmod | grep 8139
    give you?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  7. #26
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    8139cp 22528 0
    8139too 26880 0
    mii 58888 2 8139cp, 8139too

  8. #27
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by a12ctic
    8139cp 22528 0
    8139too 26880 0
    mii 58888 2 8139cp, 8139too
    Ok!

    8139too et 8139cp are two different modules that can handle this card. Of course if the two are inserted it won't work.

    Here are their descriptions from the kernel source :

    Quote Originally Posted by 8139cp
    RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support (EXPERIMENTAL)
    Quote Originally Posted by 8139too
    RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support
    The one called 8139cp isn't as reliable as the 8139too.

    We can repair that in 2 steps.

    1) We have to blacklist the 8139cp module so it doesn't get loaded at startup :

    As root :
    Code:
    echo 'blacklist 8139cp' >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    echo '8139cp' > /etc/hotplug/blacklist.d/8139cp
    sed -i -e 's/\(.*8139cp\)/# \1/' /etc/modprobe.d/aliases
    You can use root in Ubuntu too :
    Code:
    sudo passwd
    and choose a root password.

    2) Then we have to make the "8139too" load at startup :
    Code:
    echo 8139too >> /etc/modules

    And clean your /etc/network/interfaces file!

    Once you reboot, it should work nicely.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #28
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Code:
    echo 'blacklist 8139cp' >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    echo '8139cp' > /etc/hotplug/blacklist.d/8139cp
    sed -i -e 's/\(.*8139cp\)/# \1/' /etc/modprobe.d/aliases
    this didnt work, from what i can tell, there is not hotplug folder in ubuntu

  10. #29
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    You are right, there is no /etc/hotplug/ folder in Ubuntu. But the rest did work right?

    Even after a reboot, the module 8139cp still gets loaded after blacklisting it with
    Code:
    echo 'blacklist 8139cp' >> /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    and
    Code:
    sed -i -e 's/\(.*8139cp\)/# \1/' /etc/modprobe.d/aliases
    ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  11. #30
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    how would i go about releasing and renewing the ip from the router?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •