Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
well today my friend said good bye to his windows partion after it got infected with a virus (again). i burned a new copy of ubuntu last night, the installation ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473

    internet not working


    well today my friend said good bye to his windows partion after it got infected with a virus (again). i burned a new copy of ubuntu last night, the installation went perfectly, but his internet isnt working. i really dont know where to start, its pluged in through a enthranet cord, it says that the interface is active but its not finding the gateway or anything.

    thanks guys

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    What kind of setup is it? Does your friend uses a modem? A router? With DHCP? Please give more details...

    And what kind of ethernet card does this computer has?
    The output of
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i ethernet
    would be usefull too.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    its connected through intranet, its intergrated into his motherboard, the connection is coming from a router. its a DELL 4550. he has dhcp as well.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Do you mean it's a "Dell Dimension 4550" ?
    http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...4550/specs.htm

    Which version of Ubuntu is it? 6.06?

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i ethernet
    ?

    Plus, what is the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig

    This ethernet card (Intel Pro 10/100) should work fine with the "e100" module.

    Try
    Code:
    dmesg | grep eth
    to see if your card is being detected.

    If you think the card (integrated) is not being detected, you can insert it manualy:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe e100
    and
    Code:
    dmesg | tail
    to see if it works.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Do you mean it's a "Dell Dimension 4550" ?
    http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...4550/specs.htm

    Which version of Ubuntu is it? 6.06?

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    lspci | grep -i ethernet
    ?

    Plus, what is the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig

    This ethernet card (Intel Pro 10/100) should work fine with the "e100" module.

    Try
    Code:
    dmesg | grep eth
    to see if your card is being detected.

    If you think the card (integrated) is not being detected, you can insert it manualy:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe e100
    and
    Code:
    dmesg | tail
    to see if it works.
    the cards being detected, it just isnt working, ifconfig just told me that eth0 isnt getting any packets sent back and forth

  7. #6
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    OK, then what is the output of
    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    and of
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    What is the router IP address? Can you ping it?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    have you dhcpcd eth0 or dhclient eth0?
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    what? explain spenc...

    i cannot ping the router. also, his resolv.conf is empty. the routers ip is 192.169.1.1

  10. #9
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    If your router is setup properly, then the content of /etc/resolv.conf should be something like :
    Code:
    search
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    And what about /etc/network/interfaces? Can you post the content of it?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    If your router is setup properly, then the content of /etc/resolv.conf should be something like :
    Code:
    search
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    And what about /etc/network/interfaces? Can you post the content of it?
    /etc/network/interfaces reads

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopbacj

    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet dhcp

    auto ath0
    iface ath0 inet dhcp

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhco

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhco

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •