Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm completely new to the Linux world. I thought I would give Ubuntu a shot, and installed it on my computer. However during install it installed all of Ubuntu ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problem with partitions during install

Hello,

I'm completely new to the Linux world. I thought I would give Ubuntu a shot, and installed it on my computer. However during install it installed all of Ubuntu into a new partition I'm sure I didn't create, leaving me with 40mb free space.
    I already have 2 partitions, both approximatley 40 gig. One holds Windows, and I was trying to install Ubuntu on the other. That obviously didn't work, and as I don't know anything about Ubuntu I urgently need some help in joining the empty partition to the one Ubuntu is in, or something of the sort.

Linux Newbie
    try using the application "gparted"

Code:
    apt-get install gparted

Linux User
    Hi ralphiekabo,
    I would suggest you to boot with a Live CD and use partitioning tools like GParted or QtParted available in it to do the job. Go to following threads : -

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...ight=partition

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ins...lp-please.html

With Regards,
    Thinker

a suggestion

Keep in mind I'm somewhat new to Ubuntu but have found out what works for me.
    I've installed Ubuntu a few times and have found if I have two partitions or two drives, I can just delete a partition from within Ubuntu's installation process and it then asks me if I want to prepare a partition for installation after doing so. It then prepares a small partition for the grub (I assume) and one for Ubuntu itself.
    Maybe someone can explain my experience in the proper jargon?

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by dapperone