Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
Here's the output; Code: lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 2001-03-14 16:16 /dev/fd -> /proc/self/fd...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    47

    Here's the output;

    Code:
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 13 2001-03-14 16:16 /dev/fd -> /proc/self/fd

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    97
    Okay, mount that somewhere, then copy the files over:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/floppy
    sudo mount /dev/fd
    cp FILE /mnt/floppy

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    47
    command:
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/fd
    output:
    Code:
    mount: can't find /proc/5961/fd in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    97
    Run this:
    NOTE: MAKE SURE YOU USE DOUBLE ANGLED BRACKETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    In fact, also back up fstab. I've added the command in.
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/floppy
    sudo cp /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.bak
    sudo echo "/dev/fd /mnt/floppy auto rw,user,noauto 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
    mount /mnt/floppy

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    47
    Command:
    Code:
    sudo echo "/dev/fd /mnt/floppy auto rw,user,noauto 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
    Output:
    Code:
    -bash: etc/fstab: Permission denied
    Could the fact that this is not installed, and actually running from a live CD make any difference?

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    97
    The problem is that the password prompt for sudo is being redirected by the angled brackets to /etc/fstab, before you've been authenticated. I just ran into a similar problem myself, it's kind of annoying. Do this:
    Code:
    su
    echo "/dev/fd /mnt/floppy auto rw,user,noauto 0 0" >> /etc/fstab

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    47
    After I type 'su', it asks for the password. It isn't 'password', 'root' or 'rootpassword'. What is the root password set as for Ubuntu 6.06 i386 for Desktop?

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    97
    You probably haven't set one yet. Type:
    Code:
    sudo passwd
    It will first ask for the password of your user account. Then you will have to enter and reenter a root password. That root password is what you should use with su.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by bforbes
    It will first ask for the password of your user account.
    But there are no accounts set up. The problem I'm having occurs when I'm trying to load the OS from a live CD.

  10. #20
    IO3
    IO3 is offline
    Just Joined! IO3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    67

    X reconfigure

    First log into the shell.
    Then type(without the quotes) "sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg"
    This will start a wizard that will reconfigure X. Then type
    "sudo /etc/init.d/gdm restart" This will start GDM.
    If you are using Kubuntu
    type "sudo /etc/init.d/kdm restart"

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •